cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ping

chatburger
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 31-10-2007

Ping

Hey all.
Unfortunately for me I have a son who spends most of his time online gaming. I even join him occasionally when my Internet allows it! ( we both have xboxes)  my problem is constant signal drops and really erratic signals. One minute it's fine the next it grinds to a halt. Also even when it's working at its best I'm still struggling to get pings below 50ms, usually more like 70ms. Which as most people on here will know, that's not a great gaming experience. I have recently added pro to my package and turned interleaving off through the website(yesterday) but it's still not made any difference. I have always had problems with my Internet. I guess I just don't have a great line. but there has been occasions where we both could play together and it worked great. I have changed all of my equipment a couple of times over the years and still can't get a reliable constant low ping connection. I suppose that's the holy grail for most people. I honestly do not care about speeds, just pings.
My speeds are 62ms ping dl 3.62 ul .36 . Any advice would be welcome.
Thanks
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,206
Thanks: 898
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Ping

Are the Xbox are connected by wireless
chatburger
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 31-10-2007

Re: Ping

One is,one is wireless. Although the wireless one usually performs better for some reason. Probably because I run it DMZ . Outside the routers firewall. Btw I usually have nat open on both xboxes. I don't feel that is the culprit based on speedtests when the problems start. His usual complaint is running slow and it searching for game above 50ms and sometimes higher.
If there is any info I can post up here to aid some assistance let me know and I'll do my best.
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,206
Thanks: 898
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Ping

The router stats would help
chatburger
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 31-10-2007

Re: Ping

I've got a netgear dgn2200. Before that I had a Bellini mimo. Both had similar performance.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,206
Thanks: 898
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Ping

It is the stats which may be relevant not the model of router
chatburger
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 31-10-2007

Re: Ping

Meaning what exactly?
chatburger
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 31-10-2007

Re: Ping

Also if I was to add pro and turn interleaving off. How long does it take to come into effect?Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,206
Thanks: 898
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Ping

Why don't you just give the information requested
chatburger
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 31-10-2007

Re: Ping

omg,friendly round here aint it. i didnt understand what you meant so i asked you lo clarify.....but dont worry i looked it up.
Router Status
 
Hardware Version DGN2200
Firmware Version V1.0.0.36_7.0.36
GUI Language Version V1.0.0.25
 
Internet Port 
<snip>
Domain Name Server
212.159.6.9
212.159.6.10

 
LAN Port
MAC Address  C4:3D:C7:47:28:E4
IP Address  192.168.0.1
DHCP  On
IP Subnet Mask  255.255.255.0
 
Modem 
ADSL Firmware Version A2pB025c1.d21j2
Modem Status connected
DownStream Connection Speed 5120 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed 448 kbps
VPI 0
VCI 38
 
Wireless Port 
Name (SSID) chatburger
Region Europe
Channel Auto (11)
Mode Up to 300 Mbps
Wireless AP On
Broadcast Name On
 
 

 
System Up Time 23:59:41
Port  Status  TxPkts  RxPkts  Collisions  Tx B/s  Rx B/s  Up Time 
WAN  pppoe  822432  737994  0  1892  10551  17:40:10 
LAN1  Link Down  --  --  --  --  --  -- 
LAN2  Link Down  -- 
LAN3  Link Down  -- 
LAN4  Link Down  -- 
WLAN 300M 1757973 1622752 0 30199 3722 17:40:02

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 5120 kbps 448 kbps
Line Attenuation 48.0 db 28.5 db
Noise Margin 5.1 db 15.0 db
jim:green personally identifiable data removed mod:end
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,206
Thanks: 898
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Ping

Nothing too obvious there.
Assuming that router works the same as my Netgear can you Telnet into it via a DOS Window and use this command adslctl info --stats
My Netgear gives this

# adslctl info --stats
adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 8000
Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 992 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4640 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode:                   G.DMT
Channel:                Interleave
Trellis:                ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
               Down            Up
SNR (dB):       6.1             7.0
Attn(dB):       51.0            25.0
Pwr(dBm):       19.3            12.7
Max(Kbps):      4928            1156
Rate (Kbps):    4640            992
                       G.dmt framing
K:              146(0)          32
R:              8               4
S:              1               4
D:              32              8
                       ADSL2 framing
MSGc:           59              10
B:              133             13
M:              1               8
T:              1               9
R:              10              16
S:              0.9863          4.0000
L:              1168            256
D:              32              8
                       Counters
SF:             840100          840108
SFErr:          11              95
RS:             57126830                14279830
RSCorr:         3927            205
RSUnCorr:       62              0
HEC:            7               39
OCD:            0               0
LCD:            0               0
Total Cells:    156290641               0
Data Cells:     1594213         0
Drop Cells:     0
Bit Errors:     0               0
ES:             93              0
SES:            3               0
UAS:            111             0
AS:             14282
INP:            1.09            2.00
PER:            16.02           18.00
delay:          7.89            8.00
OR:             32.44           7.11
Bitswap:        0               0
Total time = 11 hours 21 min 51 sec
SF  = 2293503
CRC = 619
LOS = 2
LOF = 18
ES  = 93
Latest 1 day time = 11 hours 21 min 51 sec
SF  = 2293503
CRC = 619
LOS = 2
LOF = 18
ES  = 93
Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 51 sec
SF  = 24131
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52982
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
SF  = 0
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 0
15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52923
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 0
15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52982
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 0
15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52864
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 0
Showtime Drop Reason:   8000
Last Retrain Reason:    8000
chatburger
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 31-10-2007

Re: Ping

with a bit of trail and error then research,i found out my router does not have that feature.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,206
Thanks: 898
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Ping

I can only make a guess that the line has had interleaving enabled
If you can use the tracert command in the DOS window to ntp.plus.net you should get something like this - my connection is interleaved
C:\Users\Jim>tracert ntp.plus.net
Tracing route to ntp.plus.net [212.159.13.50]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.0.1
  2    31 ms    31 ms    31 ms  lo0-central1.pcl-ag06.plus.net [195.166.130.46]
  3    38 ms    30 ms    33 ms  gi7-6-611.pcl-gw01.plus.net [84.93.254.129]
  4    31 ms    31 ms    30 ms  vl63.pcl-lb01.plus.net [212.159.2.252]
  5    31 ms    31 ms    31 ms  cdns02.plus.net [212.159.13.50]
Trace complete.
chatburger
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 31-10-2007

Re: Ping

C:\Users\Me>tracert ntp.plus.net
Tracing route to ntp.plus.net [212.159.6.10]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.0.1
  2    21 ms    38 ms    21 ms  lo0-central1.ptn-ag03.plus.net [195.166.130.10]
  3    22 ms    21 ms    20 ms  gi2-8-311.ptn-gw01.plus.net [84.92.2.49]
  4    21 ms    21 ms    21 ms  vl55.ptn-lb01.plus.net [212.159.2.124]
  5    20 ms    21 ms    26 ms  cdns02.plus.net [212.159.6.10]
Trace complete.
C:\Users\Me>
mmmm...kinda seems to me like that is a good result?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,206
Thanks: 898
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Ping

It certainly indicates that your line isn't interleaved so as the problem is with almost certainly with gaming so I am moving this thread into the gaming forum where you may well get some helpful advice