cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Patch speed issues?

dragona
Grafter
Posts: 207
Registered: 31-07-2007

Patch speed issues?

Howdy all,
I'm currently taking part in a beta test for a game, this game patches on port 80 and seems to artificially cap at 0.66 MB/s (or there abouts) Ive been looking into if this is an issue on my end opening and closing ports on my router with no success but i also found that when i try to browse image gallery's while patching i have extreme difficulty loading single images, the images are typically about 120KB but take 5+ seconds to load. so i'm curious is there some sort of cap occurring on port 80? i shouldn't have hit my limit yet i was 46/60 GB this morning and the throttle on my patch speed seems to have occurred in all previous phases too.
what Ive found with the patch client so far is:
Remote port is static at port 80, local port is dynamic between 58000 - 62000 from what Ive observed
no matter what i change  i still get a flat rate..
4 REPLIES
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Patch speed issues?

Port 80 is http.
If we restricted port 80 I'm pretty certain there would be many many complaints about it!
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,882
Thanks: 164
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Patch speed issues?

Having the problem right now?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,882
Thanks: 164
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Patch speed issues?

Hang on, 0.66MB/s is ~ 5.2Mbps which isn't that far from your linespeed.  What are you expecting?
dragona
Grafter
Posts: 207
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Patch speed issues?

Aha! missed the fact that it was MB and not Mb ...
Well i feel daft now, nothing to see here!
Thanks for the quick reply!