cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PS3 HD Swap.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,688
Thanks: 1,080
Fixes: 46
Registered: 14-04-2007

PS3 HD Swap.

I have a PS3 and the grandson stayed last night and brought his copy of GT6 to play.
It wouldn't work on mine because it needed a huge update (size unknown) and it told me I didn't have enough space on my drive (it is a 120GB drive with 9GB of available space).
So in response to this and space needs in general I have ordered a 500GB replacement.
I have read a number of procedures on various sites regarding a drive replacement and none so far have given me the confidence that I won't be losing some data.
Has anyone done this swap to their satisfaction? If so I would be interested to hear about it. Smiley
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
I see dead Parsnips.
9 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,216
Thanks: 888
Fixes: 101
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

I've swapped mine without issue, backed up the data onto another drive through the UI whacked in the new one and restored.
Will Moderate For Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

I repaired the one I got given, put it under the stairs a year ago and not turned it back on since  Cheesy
I really must get back into playing games again sometime  Grin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,688
Thanks: 1,080
Fixes: 46
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

Thanks guys.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
I see dead Parsnips.
wo0x
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 31-05-2013

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

Just be careful with the blue screw. It's made of plasticine... Apart from that it's all very easy.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,688
Thanks: 1,080
Fixes: 46
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

Yes I've read about the soft screws involved but I have a 4" angle grinder handy in case of problems Wink
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
I see dead Parsnips.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,216
Thanks: 888
Fixes: 101
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

I have the original fat ps3.. my screws weren't fragile
Will Moderate For Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

One of the PS3 models has a case screw that is shorter than the rest - if you put the longer screw in the hole it will mess up the PCB inside the unit.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,688
Thanks: 1,080
Fixes: 46
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

Thanks for the tip DomS Smiley
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
I see dead Parsnips.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,688
Thanks: 1,080
Fixes: 46
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

I'm just finishing off the HD replacement by restoring my backup, a 3 hour task.
The swap-over took longer that expected due to the lack of a crucial piece of information.
I downloaded the latest firmware and put it on a USB stick as per various sites' guidelines.
The process failed, I placed the file on a CD, it failed.
Then I found a site which blew the cobwebs off an old memory.
The PUP file doesn't go on the USB stick, it goes in a folder called UPDATE within a folder called PS3 on a USB stick.
When I did this everything worked fine, the HD was formatted and installation was completed.

PS I have since found a reference the folders on a Playstation site page after a bit of digging.
Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
I see dead Parsnips.