cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PS3 HD Swap.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,082
Thanks: 1,795
Fixes: 145
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

PS3 HD Swap.

I have a PS3 and the grandson stayed last night and brought his copy of GT6 to play.
It wouldn't work on mine because it needed a huge update (size unknown) and it told me I didn't have enough space on my drive (it is a 120GB drive with 9GB of available space).
So in response to this and space needs in general I have ordered a 500GB replacement.
I have read a number of procedures on various sites regarding a drive replacement and none so far have given me the confidence that I won't be losing some data.
Has anyone done this swap to their satisfaction? If so I would be interested to hear about it. Smiley

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 62.0.3 (64-bit)

9 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,838
Thanks: 2,021
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

I've swapped mine without issue, backed up the data onto another drive through the UI whacked in the new one and restored.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

I repaired the one I got given, put it under the stairs a year ago and not turned it back on since  Cheesy
I really must get back into playing games again sometime  Grin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,082
Thanks: 1,795
Fixes: 145
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

Thanks guys.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 62.0.3 (64-bit)

wo0x
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎31-05-2013

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

Just be careful with the blue screw. It's made of plasticine... Apart from that it's all very easy.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,082
Thanks: 1,795
Fixes: 145
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

Yes I've read about the soft screws involved but I have a 4" angle grinder handy in case of problems Wink

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 62.0.3 (64-bit)

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,838
Thanks: 2,021
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

I have the original fat ps3.. my screws weren't fragile

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

One of the PS3 models has a case screw that is shorter than the rest - if you put the longer screw in the hole it will mess up the PCB inside the unit.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,082
Thanks: 1,795
Fixes: 145
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

Thanks for the tip DomS Smiley

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 62.0.3 (64-bit)

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,082
Thanks: 1,795
Fixes: 145
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: PS3 HD Swap.

I'm just finishing off the HD replacement by restoring my backup, a 3 hour task.
The swap-over took longer that expected due to the lack of a crucial piece of information.
I downloaded the latest firmware and put it on a USB stick as per various sites' guidelines.
The process failed, I placed the file on a CD, it failed.
Then I found a site which blew the cobwebs off an old memory.
The PUP file doesn't go on the USB stick, it goes in a folder called UPDATE within a folder called PS3 on a USB stick.
When I did this everything worked fine, the HD was formatted and installation was completed.

PS I have since found a reference the folders on a Playstation site page after a bit of digging.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 62.0.3 (64-bit)