cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

Tairbh
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎09-07-2018

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

That was fast, thanks! I should've run some tests before mentioning it lol, but didn't expect such a quick response at this time of night, appreciated! :-)

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,851
Thanks: 3,987
Fixes: 638
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

@James1o1o this should be sorted now, could you let us know if you still experience problems?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,366
Thanks: 693
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues


@skunknste wrote:

I am able to log in now after a reset, however as these faults are intermittent i'm pretty sure it will drop out again.

ipconfig shows DHCP : yes

 


Unless I'm misunderstanding you, you can't see your public IP address with an ipconfig command. This is just showing you the IP address your router has assigned you (which will probably be a 192.168 address, and the gateway address of your router which will be the same range.

Unless you are plugging your DSL line straight into your PC somehow of course! Smiley

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
skunknste
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-07-2018

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

Just to be sure, if i type ipconfig /all and see DHCP enabled : yes, it means im still on dynamic right ?

 

ohh wait i see your reply XD

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,366
Thanks: 693
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

Smiley  That is the setting for your wireless card to tell it to broadcast out to the network with a DCHP request.  Your router listens for this and assigns it an IP address from the range it has set up. (Usually 192.168.X)

It's not that easy to see if you are on a static, beyond seeing what your router has had assigned as your public v4 (either in it's config screens, or at http://www.whatismyip.com) and seeing that it doesn't move.  If you know what ranges we assign our statics from, that helps too!

 

 

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
skunknste
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-07-2018

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

To find out if your IP is dynamic or static follow these steps:

  1. Close all the windows of your browser (Firefox, IExplorer, etc.)
  2. Disconnect your PC from internet (in the case of some connections this is not necessary)
  3. Turn off and restart the modem or router (according to the connection)
  4. If the modem or router is internal (or usb) restart your PC
  5. Re-connect to internet and open a window in your browser
  6. Open this page again (http://www.vermiip.es/show-my-ip)

If you have followed the previous steps:
You probably have a Static IP (fixed).
Your current IP is the same as the one you had for the previous visit.

 

Looks like it is static.  Thanks Smiley

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,366
Thanks: 693
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

@carljones  I don't support you can repeat the wireshark when you were doing similar thing while it's working on your static IP?  We want to see if the oddities we've seen in the capture are still there or not.

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,366
Thanks: 693
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

That's not always a good test because IPs from our dynamic ranges are often very sticky, so you can end up with the same, or very close to the same IP address on restarts.

You are on a static IP though, I've just checked.

 

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,872
Thanks: 475
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

I was going to say too, that just a quick disconnect and reconnect may not show whether you're on a static IP.

It might, but you could be assigned the same dynamic IP for some time. So it might appear to be static, but really it isn't.

I only think these things can be checked at an account level, as @Kelly has just done.

carljones
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎12-07-2018

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

Hello, I can repeat the capture but sadly am away until Monday, so can do it then.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,366
Thanks: 693
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

All:

 

Do you have any sense of when you started seeing the problem?   

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
llamafarmer
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎18-07-2018

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

Kelly,

I think it was around the start/middle of June. Sorry I can't be more specific.

 

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,366
Thanks: 693
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

That's great.  Lines up with something we are seeing on our platform.

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
EmilyC
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎18-07-2018

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

Since I moved house a week ago and only just came back to WoW after a 2-3 month break, my timing won't help,

 

But this is the link to the WoW forum post that directed me here. It looks like people here started experiencing the issue early June https://eu.battle.net/forums/en/wow/topic/17620112070#post-2

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 3,068
Thanks: 5,110
Fixes: 104
Registered: ‎29-09-2011

Re: Ongoing World of Warcraft issues

I'd just like to take a second to thank you all for coming over from the Blizzard forums to share your experiences and help us get to the bottom of this.

 

Thanks all Smiley

 Jono H
 Plusnet Community Manager