cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Once Again I'm Back!

Gimlisk
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 22-01-2014

Once Again I'm Back!

Hello!
I am having the worst month ever in my life... I have not had a week or day without continuous spike lags and I've really had enough and every time I lag for 5-10min straight, I come off and cry..  I am a gamer and a gamer who wants to enjoy playing PC MMORPG games without having to lag so god damn much!.. I can't play SWTOR, WoW, Diablo 3 or any Online games without the friendly neighbor hood > The Lag!
I'm getting so fed up with this that I feel like I'm getting forced to stop playing PC MMORPG games or Online games in general... Witch I'd would hate to do... And with the up coming expansions for SWTOR and WoW , I'm sadly not ganna see and enjoy any of them because of the LAG.
Me showing proof or details about my connection will be pointless and not worth my time as I have done this before and sent letters personal to +net about the spike/lags connection here, were I live... I will provide info or screenshots of stuff if you +net want it to help me have an improvement on stable connection...
Some point next year I might be thinking of moving JUST to get some god damn decent connection... Witch I personally don't want to do either at the moment..
Regards
Gimlisk
19 REPLIES
Acassim
Grafter
Posts: 1,075
Registered: 11-06-2007

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

Hi Gimlisk,
I'm really sorry to hear that you're seeing issues while gaming, it does sound odd that this appears to be intermittently seen for short periods and then the spikes seem to drop off.
Can I just ask -
Are you connected to the router via a wireless or wired connection?
Is there any online games that you don't see this in at all?
Which router are you using and have you tried an alternate router?
Is the router set up to have the require ports forwarded to the gaming PC?
Is this issue only seen during certain hours of the day?
At the time that you see the issue, are there any other devices or people using the connection at the address?

Hopefully we should get a little insight from some of these answers and we may have an avenue or two to follow up in diagnosing the cause for you.
Gimlisk
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 22-01-2014

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

Sorry for late reply.

Are you connected to the router via a wireless or wired connection?
Wired connection, always have.
Is there any online games that you don't see this in at all?
Pretty much every online games. Also getting it on Skype or TeamSpeak 3.
Which router are you using and have you tried an alternate router?
No, but I haven't got any to try anyways. But far as I know, it wont work.
Is the router set up to have the require ports forwarded to the gaming PC?
No. I never had to do such things for MMO games.
Is this issue only seen during certain hours of the day?
Any time. It can happen mornings, evenings or afternoons. It is so random!
At the time that you see the issue, are there any other devices or people using the connection at the address?
Yes, me and my brother have our own PC's. But we never had connection/lag issues. Only when years came by, the connections got more and more terrible.

Even today/tonight, the connection issue is still happening and is really doing my head in! It's making my gaming experience very difficult to play with my friends and others and enjoying myself.
Even getting onto the internet/Google it takes quite a few minutes (30sec to 1 minute) and carries on when searching the web.
Please get this fixed!
Kind Regards
Gimlisk
ghos7em1
Grafter
Posts: 247
Registered: 13-05-2014

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

technicolor router cant handle 2 people online at the same time.i had bad lag with that router even when the other computer was browsing the web.you need to buy a better router that can handle more connections  Shocked
Gimlisk
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 22-01-2014

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

I have a Plusnet router? I use to have 3 PC on everyday but now just 2, and never had issue then.. (few years ago tho) So don't think a better router is going to help. Plus, I don't think I can get any better router than what I've got now.
dick:quote
ghos7em1
Grafter
Posts: 247
Registered: 13-05-2014

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

without posting your stats i dont think anyone can help you.if you have enough bandwidth and port forward correctly you shouldnt  lag .but like i said i had to buy new router to stop my lag.if you are using the technicolor router they have a history of game related problems but you dont say what router you are using.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

Recently started playing Swtor again and not seeing the lag you say there is.  Playing on Red Eclipse so EU side with no issues.
But gaming is affected by minor and major phone line and ADSL faults, so might be you have one that needs fixed.  So the standard copy paste reply as it is what will help find out
We need your router stats
Any noise/crackling in the phone, dial 17070 option 2 and listen for a minute
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Gimlisk
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 22-01-2014

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

Last post about  my issue > http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,131596.msg1148216.html#msg1148216
I have made a post about this a while ago but not heard anything still.. I'm not going to repeat myself, most of the details you are asking is going to be here. (Hopefully)
I have checked my phone many times for crackling or anything else and nothing. I have try programs to help with latency/lag issues but no go, I have try other solutions to help my connection be stabled and nothing..
What else can be done to get me a decent connection &/or the right speeds I am suppose to get?
Regards
Gimlisk
Acassim
Grafter
Posts: 1,075
Registered: 11-06-2007

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

Hi again Gimlisk,
Thanks for getting back to us on this one and apologies for the delay in responding.
I've had a good look over your account along with some faults testing with the supplier and a bit of digging on your exchange and everything we can see is looking fine. Granted you don't have ADSL2 available at your exchange however your ADSL Max is performing well with a speed profile of 7.1mbps along with a BT profile of 6dB/Fast along with some very stable connection logs as you can see below:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14144985624194.png"/>
Just checking over your exchange, all seems fine with the virtual paths and it doesn't seem that it's over subscribed so again, this area seems to be performing well.
I think in order to find this issue we may need to look around at some of the other obvious places to see if we can spot anything out of the ordinary. While it is unlikely, ideally we could do with checking the router to ensure this isn't an issue so if you you're able to test with an alternate piece of hardware to rule this out, that would be great. Understandably not everyone has a spare router so this my not be possible but if you're able to loan one just for testing it would really help us to eliminate this as a possible cause.
After this it would be best to check if you're using anything like homeplugs in order to run your wired network between rooms, on occasion these can introduce issues into a wired network and still remain operational which means they may look like they're functioning fine.
Finally, it would be beneficial for us to get a BQM running to see the quality of the connection around the clock and spot any issues external to your home network. Details of the Broadband Quality Monitor can be found here but if you need a hand setting this up then please let us know.
Hopefully all of the above will allow us to spot the issue and we can then work with you to get the problem resolved.
Gimlisk
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 22-01-2014

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

Hello,
I have done a few hours for now. (28/10/2014 - 22:23PM) and will do more tomorrow if needed.
No clue what this means but hope to hear back!
Regards
Gimlisk

Acassim
Grafter
Posts: 1,075
Registered: 11-06-2007

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

Hi Gimlisk,
Thanks for getting this set up, lets see how we look once we have 24 or more hours under the belt and we can see a decent chunk of data. If you do want any info on interpreting the BQM graph then there is a pretty comprehensive breakdown here that explains the various different states.
In the meantime, just keep using the connection as you normally would do and lets see what pops up!
Gimlisk
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 22-01-2014

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

Alright, it has gone all the way to the end.. I'm guessing a lot of latency spikes ? That's how I see it anyways..
Acassim
Grafter
Posts: 1,075
Registered: 11-06-2007

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

Hi Gimlisk,
Thanks for updating us, the jumps in latency don't necessarily mean that the connection is seeing issues, this type of BQM result is common when the connection is in use at your end and will be increase latency based on the amount of data you're sending and receiving. There is one area of concern for me here so far though and that would be the flat looking tabletop that can be seen around 10:30am to 12:30pm today.
Are you able to confirm what the connection has been used for during the window displayed on the graph and also if you've seen any latency effects throughout this period?
On the whole, this graph doesn't really raise any alarms for me although I'm still rather new to the interpretation so I'm happy to stand to any corrections that may arise  Cheesy  There is some packet loss but nothing major and only at times where the connection looks to be under use.
Gimlisk
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 22-01-2014

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

Latency at that time and through out the day has been bad.. It has gone up and down stupidly..
I really think there is something wrong that is continuously interfearing with my (and my brother) connection.. At this point, I'm being forced to not play online games..
Any other suggestions? I/we're seriously not receiving the right speed for anything in this house and it's annoying mostly me and my brother as we are both gamer's and play games everyday.
Regards
Gimlisk
ghos7em1
Grafter
Posts: 247
Registered: 13-05-2014

Re: Once Again I'm Back!

i would run a cmd test and try to find your correct mtu for your connection.1500 mtu always causes packet loss on adsl for gaming.and check both computers for viruses and spyware