cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MP3 or WMA for PS3

Euge
Grafter
Posts: 502
Registered: 11-10-2007

MP3 or WMA for PS3

Is it better to use one rather than the other? Do both of them work?
I'd be inclined to use MP3 since it seems more likely it would be compatible but before I format all the songs on my mates iriver, it would be nice to know if anyone has tried putting songs onto their PS3.
6 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,192
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 101
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: MP3 or WMA for PS3

I've got some MP3s on mine and they play fine, I haven't tried any WMA as I don't have them  Smiley
Will Moderate For Thanks
Euge
Grafter
Posts: 502
Registered: 11-10-2007

Re: MP3 or WMA for PS3

I keep getting cyclic errors thanks google something to do with the file being corrupt at some point in communication between the device and computer. I've tried to use the dos prompt to send the problem files to NUL but it wont even recognise the files even though I have them there on the screen from dir /w/p.SO I can't prove whether it's the files on the player or the destination.
It's a pain in the arse basically. I can't even seem to upgrade it's firmware  Angry
Mackins7000
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 13-03-2009

Re: MP3 or WMA for PS3

Some WMA files don't work, I've got like 20gb of music on my PS3.
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,542
Thanks: 185
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: MP3 or WMA for PS3

There are several kinds of wma format.
If you're a fan of DRM then use wma

Mackins7000
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 13-03-2009

Re: MP3 or WMA for PS3

I doubt anyone on earth is a fan of DRM except the companies that use it! Haha.
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: MP3 or WMA for PS3

nope no fan of it  here.
havent even botherd to install the windows update that apperad a week or so ago. somthing to do with drm