cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Latency

jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 651
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Latency

Maybe somebody might know the answer,i sometimes play medal of honour on the net,i was told that my ping is not bad but my latency is causing the problems playing the game.
So is there anything that can be done with that to improve it or not,he seems to think it is plusnet that is the problem?. Huh
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
35 REPLIES
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 651
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: Latency

No one offer any help on this?
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,220
Thanks: 1,111
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Latency

Whats your connection ? copper or fibre
do you have anything running in the background hogging your connection ?
Have you done a router reset ? swapped gateways ?
or have you checked Anti Virus ?
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 651
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: Latency

Not on fibre,wish i was,i have tried re-setting the router before but nothing has changed,anti virus not causing me any problems,its to do with latency & i think as far as i have been told its an ISP thing. Undecided
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,220
Thanks: 1,111
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Latency

As far as i am aware latency & Ping are the same , and there are loads of factors involved not just on the ISP side . I am no expert compared to some here  but have gain a lot from people here  Wink
on the ISP side of things try to swap your Gateway http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/ some are less busy than others , on your router web page Disconnect / reconnect  will change your Gateway .
another tip is to on your router page Disable UPNP , for  some reason this helps with gaming  Wink
But i am sure some more Knowledgeable person will pick this up today  Smiley 
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 651
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: Latency

I think you will find that ping & latency are not the same,but i am grateful for all suggestions. Smiley
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,887
Thanks: 164
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Latency

It's definitely not congestion.  Traffic really low this weekend (probably the sun dragging people out from their computer cupboards Smiley )
What is your in game latency looking like?  What platform are you playing it on?  Are you wireless or wired?
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 651
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: Latency

The latency thing i can,t answer as i know nothing about it,another guy on the server who did seem to know said that it could be the problem.
The game is medal of honour & spearhead on multiplayer,i am not sure what you mean about platform you just join these game servers within the game.
I don,t use wireless at all.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,887
Thanks: 164
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Latency

I mean Xbox, PS3 or PC
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 651
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: Latency

Sorry Grin pc Win7
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,220
Thanks: 1,111
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Latency

Latency from wikipedia  Wink  " Many software platforms provide a service called ping that can be used to measure round-trip latency. "
basically i believe Ping is the time a packet takes to do a round  trip from your PC to a server
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,887
Thanks: 164
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Latency

Ping is a piece of software.  It sends ICMP echo request packets to the destination you select, and waits for it to reply.  It then times how long it takes for the destination to reply.
This means it's a reasonable measure of latency between yourself and that destination.  It's a little flawed in that the destination could reply when it feels like it, rather than immediately, or just not at all!
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 651
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: Latency

Yes i understand what ping tests do,but is there no way to improve this. Huh
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
JamesM
Grafter
Posts: 1,103
Registered: 24-06-2009

Re: Latency

Turning interleaving off on your line gives you a lower ping, which should give your "latency" a faster round trip. If you have errors on your line though, turning interleaving off can give you a lower speed as interleaving corrects errors on your line. So turning it off means no error correction, more disconnects, means a lower stable speed.
As Ron said, if you have a Thomson or Technicolour router you could try turning Upnp off.
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 651
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: Latency

Upnp is off,i don,t have interleaving.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/