cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

tflood
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-02-2018

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

Thank you. I'm really delighted!

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,711
Thanks: 2,264
Fixes: 385
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

No problems at all Tim.
Glad this is finally resolved and you can get back to playing Echo Arena. Cheesy
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 496
Fixes: 5
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

I told you thats how to fix it  Cheesy

Good too see its fixed now buddy happy gaming Wink

tflood
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-02-2018

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

Yep you told me! Roll eyes

 

The game is really quite different being able to hear people, though some of them don't half go on.....

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,170
Thanks: 504
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

@tflood Do your traceroutes/pingplots look the same?  

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,170
Thanks: 504
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

@tflood Do you still have an open support conversation with the game developers?   Also, can you ask the other PN players what their external IPs from us are please.

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
tflood
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-02-2018

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

@Kelly the developers interact with the community through discord chat (https://discord.gg/b7Bpg5r). I have never really got anywhere with them about the issues but they are aware some people have problems and have pinned a message about possible fixes such as port forwarding. More general issues are sorted out via oculus rift support. I did have a support ticket with them originally i think but they couldn't help.

 

I have asked a couple of other plusnet players to post their IPs either here or to tell me and i'll post them.

 

Here is my ping trace now i'm on the static IP server:

ping plot on static IP server.JPG

tflood
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-02-2018

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

One of them posted their external IP: 51.9.153.208

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,170
Thanks: 504
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

@tflood and they are experiencing the issues with that IP?  

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
tflood
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-02-2018

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

@Kelly yes they were. I told them to post here, but they rang up instead and paid to get a static IP. That fixed it for them as well.

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,170
Thanks: 504
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

@tflood PMing you.

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
tflood
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-02-2018

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

@Kelly Did they work out what was causing the issue?

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,170
Thanks: 504
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

No.  The IP they were on wasn't an ARIN IP address which was that I was suspecting.  Something else going on here, but without the devs talking to us, we can't get much further.

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
rad_davidn
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Registered: 09-05-2018

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

Developer here - you can ask me any questions. We can chat in real time on discord if you'd like - my discord name is rad_davidn. https://discord.gg/bPB7v8d

 

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,170
Thanks: 504
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: In game VoIP not working with Plusnet - I'm going to have to leave

@rad_davidn Oh great!

 

What we understand so far is that the OP was having extremely poor VoIP performance while on an IP which was originally an ARIN registered IP.  These IPs have their details updated so they are registered in the UK, but some 3rd party geolocation providers incorrectly see these as US based and do blocking/location assignment as if hte user is in the US.

 

When they got a new RIPE, UK based IP, all the problems disappeared.  

The 2nd user has a slightly different situation with their IPs, but if we understand the behaviour of what could cause the first problem, this might become more clear!

 

Do you know if there is any geolocation based assignment of VoIP infrastructure going on here?

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager