cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

dragona
Grafter
Posts: 207
Registered: 31-07-2007

Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

Hi all,
I've been playing XIV Realm reborn since beta and not had any real issues until about 2 weeks ago where peak hours would cause the game to stutter due to data not being received from the server in time. I began trying a few things and swapped out some of my networking gear to a USB dongle for wifi which didn't change anything and then my router which also seems to not have helped.
I begun trying to ping and trace route the server and found that i was getting packet loss (over 1000 attempts i managed to get 19% loss) when doing this my server is based in Montreal and found when my traffic routes through level 3/as6453(most of the time) i get ping times of 200+ and packet loss typically after the 17th or 18th hop. Ive tried this over several nights and got similar results ranging from 10% loss to 19% loss on large captures.
On 1 occasion my traffic was routed through a shorter route through atlas servers or a name similar to them which was 17 hops long, i found when this route was made available to me i had ping times of 90-100 and no packet loss.
While things don't seem as bad tonight i found that content that requires you to move in good time was unplayable which has been the case since the problems began.
I have a few wireshark captures which seem to show tcp retransmissions.
Should i just raise a ticket for this issue? how large should the captures be?
Thanks in advance
139 REPLIES
shaone
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 07-10-2013

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

Hard mode primal fights?  Smiley
Same boat, similar story, it's been noticeable a week or two now.  Really wasn't like this before, but it seems to be limited to the evenings (the only time i can play without swapping gaming for sleeping, which I'd rather not do).  Guess I'm going to have to plan for a late night and join a pick up group if I want to beat Titan...
I'm on wired ethernet, short run to the router, on Plusnet Unlimited Fibre.  
I ran a tracert last night during a particularly laggy spell, and according to the level3 node names, it's going London -> Paris(huh) -> London (huh, again?) -> New York -> Montreal.  2-3% packet lost of pings to SE datacentre.
I'm in Brighton and worried that this is coinciding with the university term times, as I've been with providers who fall over the moment the students come back (only to say it's resolved a few months later during the holidays, and rinse and repeat).  
What information can we provide to start getting this looked at?   (doesn't seem to fit into the normal category of speed problems, can be lagging in this game but speedtesting at  60/16, so the problem seems to be on this specific route.
From my work connection the routing is EXACTLY as I would expect it (London -> New York -> Montreal, but it's going over as6453 not level3).
(also ping from work is 106ms whereas it's varying 200-300 on plusnet)
(and gaming usage is showing as zero, been playing this game heavily since beta, and i know it's using quite a chunk of bandwidth, so that's another anomaly)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,882
Thanks: 164
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

We've got a new sig in development for this game as it's in gold not titanium (hence the usage not being in the right place) but I think the performance issues you are seeing may not be related to that, more likely a peering issue.  There are also quite a few lag concerns out there on the general internet too.
shaone
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 07-10-2013

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

Good new to hear about the work on the sig, thanks for letting us know Smiley
True, there have been lag issues, and server problems, but those are mostly in the past since Square Enix massively upgraded data centre capacity.   Alot of the non-server lag issues that I'm aware of in the UK were for BT Infinity customers on certain packages, due to throttling treating the game as peer to peer traffic and applying shaping.  I'm not sure if that was resolved on those packages yet (does plusnet share game sigs with BT?), but the person I know who was affected switched package and since then has not had major issues.
I can also say with certainty this is a fairly new state of affairs on plusnet, whilst the person in my group using BT was having issues, my connection was perfect.  In the last week or so, my connection has got to the point where I am sitting out of events as I pose to much of a risk (as I mention it has been bareable by the early hours, but still significantly degraded over what I was used to before).  When 7 other people on team speak can see my character dead on the floor for about 10 seconds before I can, there's something really quite wrong, and it's not an issue on the game server itself.
If it is a peering issue, how can we go about getting that confirmed?
dick:quote
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,882
Thanks: 164
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

We've put you on the Pro profile.  Lets see how that impacts your FF gaming.  Have a couple of games tonight (if you can) and let us know if there is a difference?
dragona
Grafter
Posts: 207
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

Quote from: shaone
Hard mode primal fights?  Smiley
Same boat, similar story, it's been noticeable a week or two now.  Really wasn't like this before, but it seems to be limited to the evenings (the only time i can play without swapping gaming for sleeping, which I'd rather not do).  Guess I'm going to have to plan for a late night and join a pick up group if I want to beat Titan...

Yes, ive allready done Titan with zero issues (back when i had no lag and in off peak hours)
what you said further down in your post about the route being taken was the same for me, not tried from work as they block these functions but on 1 occasion for me to notice ive been able to use as6453 using plusnet, my mobile always uses this route(as6453).
I'll be playing from now until the early hours so and am trying to help FC members through titan tonight also which is hard to do with lag so should be a good test Smiley
shadowff6
Grafter
Posts: 100
Registered: 10-07-2010

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

I'm on Fibre Unlimited I've also been playing Final Fantasy XIV since beta with absolutely no issues, and even when the game launched on August the 27th I was able to play at any time of day without any issues for several weeks. Starting maybe 2 or 3 weeks ago I have massive amounts of lag, usually from around 7pm till about 10pm, every night. I also found that I was getting significant packet loss during the traceroutes I ran. Any help? Sad
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,882
Thanks: 164
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

Paste out the trace routes for us please.
dragona
Grafter
Posts: 207
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

im going via as6453 at the moment ping still up in the 200's but havent really noticed significant lag packet loss seems alot better only 1% apparently hops higher than the last one i saw using as6453 to my server.

Ping statistics for 199.91.189.34:
   Packets: Sent = 905, Received = 889, Lost = 16 (1% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
   Minimum = 162ms, Maximum = 364ms, Average = 191ms

Tracing route to 199.91.189.34 over a maximum of 30 hops
 1     2 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]
 2    24 ms    23 ms    23 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.190
]
 3   151 ms   147 ms   178 ms  link-b-central10.ptn-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.13
0]
 4    23 ms    24 ms    23 ms  xe-5-2-0.ptw-cr02.plus.net [212.159.0.106]
 5    39 ms    24 ms    64 ms  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.4]
 6    31 ms    23 ms   104 ms  ae1.pcl-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.1]
 7    23 ms    27 ms    24 ms  xe-11-1-0.edge3.London2.Level3.net [212.187.201.
209]
 8    42 ms    30 ms    40 ms  ae-3-3.ebr1.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.141.86]
 9    97 ms    31 ms    35 ms  ae-61-61.csw1.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.161.78]
10   154 ms    54 ms   147 ms  4.69.168.8
11    31 ms    31 ms    31 ms  ix-20-0.tcore1.PVU-Paris.as6453.net [80.231.153.
65]
12   120 ms   120 ms   120 ms  if-12-2.tcore1.PYE-Paris.as6453.net [80.231.154.
69]
13   120 ms   159 ms   119 ms  if-3-6.tcore1.L78-London.as6453.net [80.231.130.
85]
14   174 ms   125 ms   125 ms  if-2-2.tcore2.L78-London.as6453.net [80.231.131.
1]
15   131 ms   122 ms   120 ms  if-20-2.tcore2.NYY-NewYork.as6453.net [216.6.99.
13]
16   121 ms   123 ms   133 ms  if-5-2.tcore2.MTT-Montreal.as6453.net [216.6.99.
30]
17   146 ms   129 ms   128 ms  if-0-2.tcore1.MTT-Montreal.as6453.net [216.6.115
.89]
18   119 ms   138 ms   119 ms  if-5-2.tcore1.W6C-Montreal.as6453.net [64.86.31.
6]
19   188 ms   181 ms   181 ms  66.198.96.50
20   185 ms   188 ms   185 ms  192.34.76.2
21   182 ms   181 ms   187 ms  199.91.189.234
22   181 ms   187 ms   192 ms  199.91.189.34
Trace complete.

Edit: The route in use today is different to the one over the last few weeks.
shadowff6
Grafter
Posts: 100
Registered: 10-07-2010

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

My traceroutes have been very very similar for the past 2 weeks. 100ms until the 66.198.96.50 and then a jump to 170ms+. Several friends using Sky Broadband have no lag and their route doesn't seem to include this node.
I've just added the Pro Add On hoping it might help, but doesn't seem to be much different. Interestingly I rebooted my router thinking it may need that for the Add On to go in to effect and interestingly the route has changed.
Before the router reboot-
C:\Windows\system32>tracert 199.91.189.21
Tracing route to 199.91.189.21 over a maximum of 30 hops
 1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.254
 2    17 ms    18 ms    23 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag02.plus.net [195.166.128.191
]
 3    17 ms    16 ms    17 ms  link-b-central10.ptn-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.13
4]
 4    18 ms    18 ms    17 ms  xe-1-2-0.ptw-cr02.plus.net [212.159.0.114]
 5    19 ms    17 ms    17 ms  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.4]
 6   209 ms    24 ms     *     te-3-4.car5.London1.Level3.net [217.163.45.181]
 7    17 ms    17 ms    17 ms  ae-52-52.csw2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.120]
 8    17 ms    17 ms    17 ms  ae-226-3602.edge3.London1.Level3.net [4.69.166.1
50]
 9    17 ms    17 ms    17 ms  ix-20-0.tcore1.LDN-London.as6453.net [195.219.83
.101]
10   111 ms   108 ms   122 ms  if-17-2.tcore1.L78-London.as6453.net [80.231.130
.129]
11   107 ms   110 ms   107 ms  if-1-2.tcore2.L78-London.as6453.net [80.231.130.
122]
12     *        *      107 ms  if-20-2.tcore2.NYY-NewYork.as6453.net [216.6.99.
13]
13   107 ms   108 ms   108 ms  if-5-2.tcore2.MTT-Montreal.as6453.net [216.6.99.
30]
14   107 ms   107 ms   106 ms  if-0-2.tcore1.MTT-Montreal.as6453.net [216.6.115
.89]
15   108 ms   107 ms   106 ms  if-5-2.tcore1.W6C-Montreal.as6453.net [64.86.31.
6]
16   164 ms   169 ms   170 ms  66.198.96.50
17   167 ms   169 ms   186 ms  192.34.76.2
18   173 ms   173 ms   174 ms  199.91.189.234
19   171 ms   173 ms   173 ms  199.91.189.21

After router reboot-
C:\Windows\system32>tracert 199.91.189.21
Tracing route to 199.91.189.21 over a maximum of 30 hops
 1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.254
 2    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag03.plus.net [195.166.128.192
]
 3    18 ms    16 ms    17 ms  link-b-central10.ptn-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.13
8]
 4    16 ms    18 ms    16 ms  xe-5-3-0.ptw-cr02.plus.net [212.159.0.110]
 5    19 ms    16 ms    16 ms  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.4]
 6    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  ae1.pcl-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.1]
 7    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  xe-11-1-0.edge3.London2.Level3.net [212.187.201.
209]
 8    22 ms    22 ms    23 ms  ae-3-3.ebr1.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.141.86]
 9    23 ms    24 ms    23 ms  ae-61-61.csw1.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.161.78]
10    24 ms    22 ms    23 ms  4.69.168.8
11    23 ms    22 ms    23 ms  ix-20-0.tcore1.PVU-Paris.as6453.net [80.231.153.
65]
12   115 ms   115 ms   114 ms  if-12-2.tcore1.PYE-Paris.as6453.net [80.231.154.
69]
13   113 ms   113 ms   113 ms  if-3-6.tcore1.L78-London.as6453.net [80.231.130.
85]
14   114 ms   114 ms   113 ms  if-2-2.tcore2.L78-London.as6453.net [80.231.131.
1]
15   121 ms     *      113 ms  if-20-2.tcore2.NYY-NewYork.as6453.net [216.6.99.
13]
16   113 ms   113 ms   113 ms  if-2-2.tcore2.MTT-Montreal.as6453.net [64.86.226
.13]
17   114 ms   119 ms   114 ms  if-0-2.tcore1.MTT-Montreal.as6453.net [216.6.115
.89]
18   117 ms   114 ms   114 ms  if-5-2.tcore1.W6C-Montreal.as6453.net [64.86.31.
6]
19   180 ms   182 ms   177 ms  66.198.96.50
20   180 ms   178 ms   177 ms  192.34.76.2
21   180 ms     *      179 ms  199.91.189.234
22   183 ms   183 ms   176 ms  199.91.189.21
dragona
Grafter
Posts: 207
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

For the server shadow is tracing i get the following results:

Tracing route to 199.91.189.21 over a maximum of 30 hops
  1    1 ms    <1 ms    1 ms  router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]
  2    26 ms    23 ms    25 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.190
]
  3    24 ms    22 ms    26 ms  link-a-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.12
8]
  4    23 ms    22 ms    21 ms  xe-5-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.104]
  5  135 ms    *      31 ms  te-4-2.car5.London1.Level3.net [217.163.45.249]
  6    26 ms    26 ms    28 ms  ae-51-51.csw1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.88]
  7    27 ms    23 ms    24 ms  ae-118-3504.edge3.London1.Level3.net [4.69.166.1
42]
  8    24 ms    24 ms    25 ms  ix-20-0.tcore1.LDN-London.as6453.net [195.219.83
.101]
  9  111 ms  111 ms  119 ms  if-17-2.tcore1.L78-London.as6453.net [80.231.130
.129]
10  114 ms  112 ms  164 ms  if-2-2.tcore2.L78-London.as6453.net [80.231.131.
1]
11  117 ms  122 ms  114 ms  if-20-2.tcore2.NYY-NewYork.as6453.net [216.6.99.
13]
12  115 ms  114 ms  131 ms  if-5-2.tcore2.MTT-Montreal.as6453.net [216.6.99.
30]
13  114 ms  126 ms  114 ms  if-0-2.tcore1.MTT-Montreal.as6453.net [216.6.115
.89]
14  113 ms  113 ms  129 ms  if-5-2.tcore1.W6C-Montreal.as6453.net [64.86.31.
6]
15  182 ms  183 ms  184 ms  66.198.96.50
16  179 ms  180 ms  230 ms  192.34.76.2
17  182 ms  181 ms  181 ms  199.91.189.234
18  263 ms  181 ms  260 ms  199.91.189.21
Trace complete.

and Balmung server is:

Tracing route to 199.91.189.34 over a maximum of 30 hops
  1    <1 ms    1 ms    1 ms  router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]
  2    36 ms    31 ms    32 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.190
]
  3    26 ms    22 ms    27 ms  link-b-central10.ptn-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.13
0]
  4    24 ms    25 ms    25 ms  xe-5-2-0.ptw-cr02.plus.net [212.159.0.106]
  5    48 ms    36 ms    24 ms  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.4]
  6    71 ms    24 ms    23 ms  ae1.pcl-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.1]
  7    23 ms    51 ms    26 ms  xe-11-1-0.edge3.London2.Level3.net [212.187.201.
209]
  8    31 ms    32 ms    34 ms  ae-3-3.ebr1.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.141.86]
  9    30 ms    32 ms    32 ms  ae-61-61.csw1.Paris1.Level3.net [4.69.161.78]
10    29 ms    29 ms    34 ms  4.69.168.8
11    76 ms    52 ms    40 ms  ix-20-0.tcore1.PVU-Paris.as6453.net [80.231.153.
65]
12  299 ms  122 ms  180 ms  if-12-2.tcore1.PYE-Paris.as6453.net [80.231.154.
69]
13  223 ms  120 ms  165 ms  if-3-6.tcore1.L78-London.as6453.net [80.231.130.
85]
14  188 ms  207 ms  202 ms  if-2-2.tcore2.L78-London.as6453.net [80.231.131.
1]
15  146 ms  173 ms  203 ms  if-20-2.tcore2.NYY-NewYork.as6453.net [216.6.99.
13]
16  121 ms  161 ms  120 ms  if-5-2.tcore2.MTT-Montreal.as6453.net [216.6.99.
30]
17  139 ms  120 ms  150 ms  if-0-2.tcore1.MTT-Montreal.as6453.net [216.6.115
.89]
18  139 ms  130 ms  118 ms  if-5-2.tcore1.W6C-Montreal.as6453.net [64.86.31.
6]
19  188 ms  187 ms  187 ms  66.198.96.50
20  182 ms  185 ms  186 ms  192.34.76.2
21  188 ms  187 ms  183 ms  199.91.189.234
22  187 ms  189 ms  186 ms  199.91.189.34
Trace complete.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,882
Thanks: 164
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

Quote from: shadowff6
I've just added the Pro Add On hoping it might help, but doesn't seem to be much different. Interestingly I rebooted my router thinking it may need that for the Add On to go in to effect and interestingly the route has changed.

We'll refund you the £5er if you don't want to keep it.
Bump the thread tomorrow for that.
So are you all seeing problems tonight?
shadowff6
Grafter
Posts: 100
Registered: 10-07-2010

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

My server actually has 2 IPs from what I can tell. Sometimes I'm  connected to 199.91.189.21 and sometimes 199.91.189.22. More often than not I'm connected to the x.x.x.21 IP but I receive pretty much identical results when I tracert the other IP too.
shadowff6
Grafter
Posts: 100
Registered: 10-07-2010

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

Yup, I have the problem tonight. The refund on the pro add on would be really appreciated Smiley
dragona
Grafter
Posts: 207
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Final Fantasy XIV: Realm Reborn - Lag/Packet loss?

I'm still having issues though they seem to have improved and have a wireshark capture of a session where i get a fair bit.