cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Constant disconnects with Technicolor TG582n. HELP!

Trontium
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-03-2015

Constant disconnects with Technicolor TG582n. HELP!

Hi folks. Please bear with me as I'm a newb at this.
So I have the above router connected via ethernet to my ps4. This should provide a pretty consistent service, or so I thought. After getting kicked off of party chat and Destiny for the billionth time I decided to try turning game mode on in router. Same issues. Assigned ps4 a static IP. Same issues. Forwarded ports for ps4 provided by portforward.com. STILL the same.
I tested our connection and pingtest.net gave it a C. Then a D.
Streaming works fine wirelessley. So why won't an ethernet connected ps4 with open ports and a static ip let me get through ONE game of Destiny MP?
Please help if you can...
7 REPLIES 7
Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,319
Thanks: 1,638
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Constant disconnects with Technicolor TG582n. HELP!

Moved to Gaming to enlist the help of the gaming community here.
Windows 10 Firefox 107.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Mathias
Grafter
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎21-08-2008

Re: Constant disconnects with Technicolor TG582n. HELP!

IMO the router is crap for gaming.
Final things to try:
Get plusnet to do a fault check on your line
2 put ps4 in dmz since it is crap at port forwarding.
If that doesn't work then get a new router as it's likely to be at fault.
Trontium
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-03-2015

Re: Constant disconnects with Technicolor TG582n. HELP!

Thanks for the reply. How exactly do I put the PS4 in the DMZ?
Mathias
Grafter
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎21-08-2008

Re: Constant disconnects with Technicolor TG582n. HELP!

Try the search forum method. It's been asked and answered enough times
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Constant disconnects with Technicolor TG582n. HELP!

Your line isn't dropping a lot that we can see anyway

Your line itself looks as good as it's going to get on ADSL (there's no 21CN available for you)
Upstream  Downstream
Loop Loss:  6     11
Speed:  448     8128
Quote
I tested our connection and pingtest.net gave it a C. Then a D.

That's odd. What ping results do you get if you open a command prompt and try pinging bbc.co.uk or similar.
It's worth noting that Fibre is available for you too.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Mathias
Grafter
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎21-08-2008

Re: Constant disconnects with Technicolor TG582n. HELP!

your upstream looks capped. That won't help. Ask PN to uncap it for you.
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Constant disconnects with Technicolor TG582n. HELP!

@Mathias
Unfortunately the only option on a 20CN circuit is Max Premium, that costs and additional £7.83 per month.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.