cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Call Of Duty 4

Junglee
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 30-01-2008

Call Of Duty 4

Over the past 5 months i have been experiencing lots of problems with CoD4 and my internet in general. I have difficulty connecting to my friends, and there is lots of lag in the games. Can anyone help?
Thanks.
6 REPLIES
Prod_Man
Grafter
Posts: 286
Registered: 04-08-2007

Re: Call Of Duty 4

Check it's not your game settings.
I presume you're playing on PC,
as you haven't specified platform and haven't said you'd tried much.
Note: Call of Duty Series is entirely based on the Quake 3(A) engine with various Renderers. (OpenGL / DX 7/9)
1st: Enable Console and hit the [ ` ] button next to 1.
2nd: \cg_drawlagometer 1
3rd: \cg_drawfps 1
First check for frame lag (semi-uncap the frame rate just incase).
\com_maxfps 100
Play for a while, check your frame rate from time to time...
There is a blue line (top half) on the lagometer check that is not turning yellow or red.
cap it where it is most stable using:
\com_maxfps (int)
Magic FPS values - 43,76,84,125
These will allow a Higher Jump if you know what you're doing,
good old rounding errors in the Physics Engine.
most enthusiast gamer machines will should be able to attain 76 FPS to ~90FPS.
Then, check the following cvars (Client Variables) for your network settings (which aren't on the game Menus).

\maxpackets (int) 30 100
\rate (int) in 5000 25000
\snaps (int) in 20 30

Try with one of the following collections of values,
most ADSL connections should be able to attain one of these sets:
Minimum

\maxpackets 40
\rate 25000
\snaps 20

Medium

\maxpackets 60
\rate 30000
\snaps 30

Highest

\maxpackets 100
\rate 30000
\snaps 30

Ideally you set your maxpackets to your average frame rate to give a good smoothness.
You'll notice a significant difference with increasing snaps and rate as to how players update -
their movement will become smother, and less delay between what you see and shoot.
Check the bottom green line on the lagometer for faulteration.
The higher the peak points, the more latency.
Unfortunately,
you can't change the advantage high ping players have on occasions.
other than increasing your maxpackets.
This will generally decrease time between your actions and the server syncronising, even with a high base latency - laid down by the routing it's self.
I've found keeping maxpackets higher (rather than low) reduced my Ping in practially every UK based server,
I had the lowest ping on these servers and a good repsonse rate so it made the game all the more fun.
Once you found your prefered values:

\seta maxpackets VALUE
\seta rate VALUE
\seta snaps VALUE

Sets them indefinitiely in the player profile configuration.
Be careful with rate -
I don't think every server allows 30,000k but 25,000k is generally accepeted.
There are other things,
but I think I've probably bored you already with half the details.
See if those help at all.
Jim,
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,203
Thanks: 888
Fixes: 101
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Call Of Duty 4

Quote from: Junglee
Over the past 5 months i have been experiencing lots of problems with CoD4 and my internet in general

Can you expand on the 'in general' bit please?
Will Moderate For Thanks
Junglee
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 30-01-2008

Re: Call Of Duty 4

well my internet is pretty poor during peak times anyway at the moment. CoD4 on the PS3 sorry.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,203
Thanks: 888
Fixes: 101
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Call Of Duty 4

I'm playing on the PS3 now and aside from the occasional lag i don't have any issues.
If you say general surfing is bad at peak is your exchange over load or have you used up your allowance?
Will Moderate For Thanks
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,626
Thanks: 611
Fixes: 158
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Call Of Duty 4

Hi Junglee,
As some of the other posters have guessed, you've reached the usage allowance on your account and so are being restricted. Have a look here for your current usage. You can see the usage allowance on your account at this link. You may find one of our BBYW Products are more suited to your usage patterns, have a look here for details of them.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
Junglee
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 30-01-2008

Re: Call Of Duty 4

Thank you very much, thanks for the links ive looked at them and ive seen what the problem is Tongue