cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Yes or No to Full Fibre?

khaled35
Rising Star
Posts: 143
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎27-01-2012

Yes or No to Full Fibre?

This option (FTTC) has recently been made available in my area and I was hoping to get the consensus of the people that already have it.

Is it as stable as regular fibre, being my main concern. 

 

 

16 REPLIES 16
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,032
Thanks: 5,453
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

@khaled35 Once connected, it should be more stable.

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,717
Thanks: 5,503
Fixes: 393
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

This option (FTTC

@khaled35  FTTC is not Full fibre , is that a typo ? 

FTTP is Full fibre

 

 

 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,032
Thanks: 5,453
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

OOOps, @MisterW , missed that, multi answering is not my strong point, and I'm juggling a few topics. Embarrassed

John
khaled35
Rising Star
Posts: 143
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎27-01-2012

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

FTTC is what's available in my area, and on most checkers, including Plusnet's, it's shown as full fibre. 

fullfibre.png

 

Edited to add: That's what the person at plusnet said it was - FTTC

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,032
Thanks: 5,453
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

That is FTTP - not FTTC.

John
khaled35
Rising Star
Posts: 143
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎27-01-2012

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

See the edit to my previous message. I'm just parroting what I was told and what I wrote down.

 

So, it's FTTP - that will probably explain the engineer visit.

Question still open for opinions. 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,032
Thanks: 5,453
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

The advisor at PN was wrong - it is FTTP and will involve connection work.

My answer re: reliability still stands.

John
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,728
Thanks: 1,405
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

@jab1  And higher speeds if that's what you want.🤗

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,032
Thanks: 5,453
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

True, @RealAleMadrid . Unfortunately, at current build schedules I'm three years away, but not really bothered - my 40/10 FTTC is quite adequate for my current, and probably future, needs.

John
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,252
Thanks: 1,029
Fixes: 49
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

@khaled35 

If the PN website lets you order, then FTTP is available. However, you can see for yourself. Use the following

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

 

Full Fibre shows up as WBC FTTP in the left hand column. FTTC shows as VDSL

 

If you post a screen image of the results (hidng your details but including the narrative below the results window) we can advise on speed.

 

Brian

khaled35
Rising Star
Posts: 143
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎27-01-2012

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

fullfibre2.png

 

There we go.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,689
Thanks: 5,200
Fixes: 418
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

@khaled35 

So the answer is that both services are avaialble. FTTP is the latest technology, will be more stable, depending on your budget, can be much faster and will be more reliable. It is your best bet.

On the downside you may have to wait a bit longer for it to be installed and you will not have a fixed landline.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

khaled35
Rising Star
Posts: 143
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎27-01-2012

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

I just placed my order for the upgrade. I'm not concerned about losing the landline and I've got an engineer install on 12th January. Not that much of a wait, thankfully.

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,252
Thanks: 1,029
Fixes: 49
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Yes or No to Full Fibre?

@khaled35 

Thanks for the image.

 

You'e one of the few lucky people to have both servies available - and a decent FTTC to boot.

 

You've already placed your order so it's a bit late to say that FT36 and FF78 are available along with higher speeds.

 

You should get near your chosen speed with a much lower ping time (if that matters). The narrative indicates no problems are expected with the install (which isn't to say a problem won't be found on the day).

 

Brian