cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question #164335005

FIXED
wncfc
Grafter
Posts: 51
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2009

Question #164335005

I have just applied for the trial, and it seems from reading this forum, that a post here is the best way to get things moving.

Could someone check how much it would cost me if I had my landline removed as well please.  I am in contract until April I think and it may well be more sensible to wait until then, but would just like to know my options.

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Post released from Spam Filter.

25 REPLIES 25
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,483
Thanks: 1,179
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Question #164335005

If you've read the forum posts you'll know there's little support for the FTTP Trial other than through this forum. Having said that I've always found the staff helpful.

 

If you do decide to cancel your phone line make sure you do it through attracting the attention of a FTTP bod on this forum. There's always the outside chance that the accounts department take a cancelled phone line to mean a cancelled service and drop your internet connection.

 

If you've not noticed there's a £2.50 surcharge for internet only connections. Well worth it considering the savings on the phone line. If it's of interest to you you can't get PlusNet TV but you can get the BT Sport app for £5 a month.

 

Brian

wncfc
Grafter
Posts: 51
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2009

Re: Question #164335005

Thanks for the info bmc.  Amazingly my ticket was answered straight away and I already have an engineer visit provisionally booked for January 5th.  I really didn't expect it to move that quickly.

Still like someone to look at what I would have to pay if I cancelled my phone line.  I was aware of the £2.50 surcharge, but again thanks for reminding me of it.

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,483
Thanks: 1,179
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Question #164335005

I would suspect there's no saving to be had in cancelling your phone line if still in contract - especially when you add in the surcharge. However, to get it done and dusted it might just be worth it if you never use the phone. My neighbour used her support ticket for the install once her upload speed was sorted. Line got cancelled overnight.

 

For your information have a look at the DSL Checker if you've not already done so. It should state under FTTP Install Process whether it's "1 stage" or "2 stage" - one visit or two.

http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome

 

Brian

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,599
Thanks: 10,350
Fixes: 1,603
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Question #164335005

Welcome to the community forums @wncfc

 

Amazingly my ticket was answered straight away and I already have an engineer visit provisionally booked for January 5th.  I really didn't expect it to move that quickly.

Let us know how the visit goes. Smiley

 

Still like someone to look at what I would have to pay if I cancelled my phone line.

It'll be £8.54 for each month left on your contract. If your phone service is ceased/leaves us during a billing month, we'd refund pro rata line rental you would've paid. Let us know over here when you want to/can go ahead so we can keep an eye on things to make sure nothing happens to your soon-to-be FTTP service.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
wncfc
Grafter
Posts: 51
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2009

Re: Question #164335005

Maybe I've been too optimistic:

 

"Our supplier is reviewing their fibre infrastructure in your area to determine what work is required to provide you with FTTP.

We've been asked to review your order from 27/12/17 onwards and we'll let you know as soon as we have some news. We can't confirm that the appointment provisionally booked for 05/01/18 will go ahead at this stage.

This Question is now on hold until Wednesday 27th December at 7:00am."

Not sure what they are reviewing.  There's a post right outside my neighbour's house and they appear to be all set up ready to connect.  Finger's crossed that there isn't a problem.

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,599
Thanks: 10,350
Fixes: 1,603
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Question #164335005

I'm just contacting our suppliers now and I'll post back when I've got more info.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,599
Thanks: 10,350
Fixes: 1,603
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Question #164335005

It looks like your order isn't progressing through their systems as they'd expect.

A bridge case has been raised. This is basically like a task with one of their internal teams to progress the order.

Sadly, the lead time is within 5 working days so we'll have to check back on the 4th.


At this point, it is highly unlikely the appointment will go ahead on the 5th.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
wncfc
Grafter
Posts: 51
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2009

Re: Question #164335005

The appointment for the 5th didn't go ahead as you expected, and the question was put back on hold on the 5th.  It came off hold on the 8th with the promise of an update, but there has been nothing yet.  Gandalf is there any chance you could chase this up and find out what is happening please. 

 

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,599
Thanks: 10,350
Fixes: 1,603
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Question #164335005

I've spoken with Openreach and they've advised me that the order is with a specialist team to work out what needs doing to progress to the installation. We should know more by Monday.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
wncfc
Grafter
Posts: 51
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2009

Re: Question #164335005

@Gandalf

 

Sorry to be a pain, but I was supposed to get an update on Monday morning.  Can you check what is happening please.  We did have some activity from Openreach at the end of last week and they did some work on all the poles, so I am hoping this has sorted the delay.

 

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,599
Thanks: 10,350
Fixes: 1,603
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Question #164335005

No worries, I'm on the phone with Openreach now and I'll update your ticket soon.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
wncfc
Grafter
Posts: 51
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2009

Re: Question #164335005

So near yet so far!!!!    The engineer came this morning - really nice guy who asked where I wanted the ONT and explained everything he was doing.  He had to get the fibre to the pole activated as mine was the first installation on the estate.  When that was done, he fitted everything and connected it up, but the light on the ONT just flashed rather than coming on steady.

 

This apparently means that somewhere along the fibre the cable has been incorrectly routed.  There was nothing else he could do apart from pass it on to the correct team who can do the tracing and correct it.  Unfortunately he had no idea how quick this would be except it was very unlikely to be this week.  It is only a small team that can do this and they are in Leeds this week!!!!

At least I don't need an engineer to call again, but I guess will be looking at the light regularly to see when it stops flashing!!!

 

 

 

MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,966
Thanks: 1,572
Fixes: 481
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Question #164335005

So close so far!

Fingers crossed they can find the issue soon.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
wncfc
Grafter
Posts: 51
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2009

Re: Question #164335005

@Gandalf   MatthewWheeler

I don't know whether I have totally misunderstood the problem, but I thought this mis-routing would mean that no-one in the area would actually be able to get connected.  I've been following a thread on a local forum, and it appears that someone close by (on the opposite side of the main road)  had ultrafast fibre 300mb installed on Friday from BT and it works fine.

Have I got it wrong, or is my problem actually something else?

(My ticket is back on hold until next Monday so I assume that means Openreach aren't likely to do anything soon)