cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netgear N300 - time to change?

f513toy
Grafter

Netgear N300 - time to change?

Had my Netgear N300 since I went onto the FTTP trial back in 2010 I think. My profile is 300mb but I actually get 70mb if I can be bothered to plug my PC into the router using cable.

On wifi however, I get a download speed of about 12mb which really sucks - that is the same on all the laptops and tablets, TV's  we have around the house.

I have tried switching channels from 6 to 1, but no difference. Security is WPA-PSK [TKIP] + WPA2-PSK [AES]. I have a Netgear range extender upstairs in the house to deal with dead spots.

So, is it time for a new router I wonder and, if so, which one? 

Help?

13 REPLIES 13
arturox
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: Netgear N300 - time to change?

I'm no expert on this subject, but It has always been my understanding that LAN Wifi is always slower than a cable connection.

I have LAN here in the house with both cable and Wifi. Most of the computers are connected by CAT cable as the the transport speeds are noticeably greater than the couple of kits that require Wifi connections.

Arturox

Anonymous
Not applicable

The quality of your WiFi speed is of course determined by the quality of the signal but I would also suggest the quality of what is transmitting and receiving that signal. My iPad uses an AirPort Time Capsule for it's WiFi connection as does my Kindle Fire HD (but I don't know how to take a screen shot on that!). As you can see from the image below my iPad's WiFi speed is as fast as my LAN speed.

I'm not suggesting you rush out and buy a Time Capsule but if you're considering upgrading your router then you will also need to give consideration to the devices you intend to connect to it as they may well require new network adapters as well.