cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LOS (loss of service) - solid red light

roysterdsb
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎13-05-2023

LOS (loss of service) - solid red light

Hi, 

 

New Plusnet full fibre customer here (Edinburgh), installed and working perfectly (Tuesday) until some point in the early hours of this morning. 

 

Now showing the solid LOS red light (no PON), i've tried the on/off and factory reset a few times and neither have remedied the issue. 

 

Realise it's still early doors on a Saturday morning, but what seems to be the best way to technical support to sort what seems to be a fairly well kent issue (I've sent the HELP text off but spotted comments saying responses to it can be patchy)? 

Really don't like the idea of being without a working full fibre connection - teenagers at home and i'm self-employed & working from home).

 

Thank you.

9 REPLIES 9
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 5,302
Fixes: 381
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: LOS (loss of service) - solid red light

If the LOS light is on, it indicates a problem with the fibre connection. Short of checking that the green plug is locked home in the ONT  , there's nothing else that you can do. It needs a fault raising and an Openreach engineer visit

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

roysterdsb
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎13-05-2023

Re: LOS (loss of service) - solid red light

All the basics checks are done & the 'HELP' text message has been sent.

 

Getting a quick response from a Plusnet employee to arrange that engineer visit would be splendid!

roysterdsb
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎13-05-2023

Re: LOS (loss of service) - solid red light

I spoke to someone on the technical helpline on Saturday, which was good (the phone route worked much quicker than texting).

 

They could see the point in the early hours when the line went dead (2 am), they raised a ticket with Openreach who replied that they didn't need a on-site engineer to visit & that they could resolve remotely.

 

Monday morning & the LOS light is still shining bring red.

 

I did also get an e-mail from Plusnet this morning saying that "We have asked our wholesale broadband suppliers to turn interleaving off at your request" - I didn't ask for it to be turned off, but i'm assuming this is one of the routes that technical can take to try and resolve the issue i'm having? (the disclaimer paragraph that follows in the e-mail doesn't inspire confidence when it mentions that the stability of my service my suffer...).

 

Any views on the implications around interleaving being switched off very welcome.

 

 

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 5,302
Fixes: 381
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: LOS (loss of service) - solid red light

I didn't ask for it to be turned off, but i'm assuming this is one of the routes that technical can take to try and resolve the issue i'm having?

The message is wrong, just ignore it. Its an automated message that has been generated and hasn't kept up with the FTTP technology,

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,692
Thanks: 1,370
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: LOS (loss of service) - solid red light

@roysterdsb  The e-mail from Plusnet is irrelevant on a full fibre connection, there is no such thing as interleaving on FTTP.  Plusnet's systems often spew out messages that bear no relation to the actual problem so can be ignored.

As for Openreach saying they can resolve the fault remotely, was any timescale given for this to happen? I would try and get Plusnet to ask for an update from OR. Is there any info in the tickets (questions) on your account.

Try this link (login required) ..... Plusnet Tickets 

 

roysterdsb
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎13-05-2023

Re: LOS (loss of service) - solid red light

@RealAleMadrid  @MisterW  - thank you both. That makes sense & why I could only find posts that concerned copper wire and interleaving!

 

Yes, I a have a live ticket - it has a due date and time of 10am this morning. Fingers crossed...

 

Hopefully they have at least narrowed down the issue (it appears to be to lack of synchronysation). It did make me smile, when I remembered that I have a small investment in an AIM listed company that is a synchronisation testing specialist (Calnex Solutions).

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,384
Thanks: 5,302
Fixes: 381
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: LOS (loss of service) - solid red light

Hopefully they have at least narrowed down the issue (it appears to be to lack of synchronysation).

I'm a little surprised that OR think they can fix it remotely, I would have thought that an LOS was a lack of light somewhere!

I guess they can remotely reset some equipment... We'll see

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

roysterdsb
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎13-05-2023

Re: LOS (loss of service) - solid red light

@MisterW you were spot on!

 

Got a call to confirm that an OR engineer will need to be on site, due tomorrow morning.

roysterdsb
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎13-05-2023

Re: LOS (loss of service) - solid red light

Apologies for being unable to provide a definitive ending!

 

The OR engineer did manage to restore full 900MB connectivity (which is awesome), I was not there when it was 'fixed' (the joiner working in the house was though). The joiner wasn't really paying that much attention to what the OR engineer said, but it was something to do with a poorly seated cable (which doesn't leave me any wiser, i checked ever single one of the cables going into the router and box connected to the router and they were all firmly in place).

 

However, the outcome is a good one & the engineer saved the day. Thanks to contributors on here for keeping me right.

 

Now to strengthen the coverage across the house with a couple of Nighthawk AX8 repeaters.