cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

FIXED
AWhite12345
Newbie
Posts: 5
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-08-2022

Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

We have recently had our home upgraded with ‘fibre to home’ and our contract changed to the 300Mbps speed on the 19th Aug. The engineer completed the work on 18th, and as yet we’re still running at our previous copper speed of 30Mbps.

Any idea when we should actually start to see our speed increase, especially given we’re now paying for something we’re not getting.
15 REPLIES 15
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,520
Thanks: 6,013
Fixes: 425
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

@AWhite12345  have you received the 'your product change is complete' email since the engineer finished the installation ? and have you rebooted the router since then ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

AWhite12345
Newbie
Posts: 5
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-08-2022

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

Yes I have received the confirmation email.

Can you clarify what you mean by ‘reboot’, is that a:
1. Turn off wait 10s turn on
or
2. Factory reset
or
3. Is there a reboot button in the system UI somewhere?
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,520
Thanks: 6,013
Fixes: 425
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

1. Turn off wait 10s turn on

@AWhite12345 that's the simplest method

Is there a reboot button in the system UI somewhere?
I'm not sure there is, I don't have my Hub 2 connected at the moment. There is a disconnect/connect option BUT that has a bug (in the process of being fixed) which means that you need to re-enter the correct passord in order to reconnect.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,971
Thanks: 5,338
Fixes: 422
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.


@AWhite12345 wrote:

2. Factory reset
or
3. Is there a reboot button in the system UI somewhere?

Yes, There's a hole on the back just above the Power In connector. Push a paperclip or similar in here, keeping the switch closed until you get a Green light.

Alternatively, Log in to the Hub and go to the Advanced Settings, enter your password then go in to the System settings

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,520
Thanks: 6,013
Fixes: 425
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

Yes, There's a hole on the back just above the Power In connector. Push a paperclip or similar in here, keeping the switch closed until you get a Green light.

@Baldrick1  won't that do a factory reset ? I didnt think @AWhite12345 wanted a factory reset , just a restart to drop and reconnect the ppp session.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,971
Thanks: 5,338
Fixes: 422
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

@MisterW 

Yes it will. There is no soft reboot function of which I am aware. I was responding to the 2. Factory Reset option in the OP's post.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

AWhite12345
Newbie
Posts: 5
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-08-2022

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

So just to confirm I have already done option 1 and nothing has changed.

Do I need to do the factory reset, or just wait for a plusnet person to test the line?
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,520
Thanks: 6,013
Fixes: 425
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

@AWhite12345  no you shouldnt need to do the factory reset. It's looking like a staff member is needed to check your account.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,865
Thanks: 1,377
Fixes: 86
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

@MisterW @Baldrick1 

There is a restart option found on the Home page left of Advanced settings

Screenshot 2022-08-21 133151.png

HTH

 

 

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,971
Thanks: 5,338
Fixes: 422
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

So there is. Talk about not being able to see your nose in front of your face!

Thanks.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,520
Thanks: 6,013
Fixes: 425
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

My excuse is I'm not currently using the Hub 2😀

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

AWhite12345
Newbie
Posts: 5
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-08-2022

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

The UI reset also made no difference, will wait for customer support to intervene.

Thanks all for the input so far
EmilyD
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 2,032
Thanks: 357
Fixes: 117
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

Hi @AWhite12345. I’m so sorry for how long it’s taken to get back to you! We’re quite busy right now, so it’s taking a longer than we’d usually like to get back to customers. 

 

I'm sorry that you've not seen an increase in your speed after upgrading to Fibre to the Home and I appreciate the disappointment that this must have caused. Please can you send me your account username over on a private message and I will look into this for you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
AWhite12345
Newbie
Posts: 5
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-08-2022

Re: Fibre to home but no speed upgrade.

Fix
Hello,

The issue has now been resolved, an engineer came out today and replaced the white fibre box inside the house.

Thank you