cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

mobycat
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-12-2016

FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

Just had Openreach out to install my FTTP only to be advised by the engineer that my address has been attached to the wrong node (pole), the node or pole that my address is attached to is at a greater distance than the cabling will allow (over 68m) therefore no FTTP Install for me today. Apparently Openreach need to reallocate my address to the correct node and then rebuild - whatever that means, no idea how long this is now going to take, I've only been waiting since October 2017 for then to start accepting orders and now they've allocated my address to the wrong pole, surely they could see from where my original BT cable is thats where i should have been attached..!!! Anybody else had this issue and how long does it take to resolve..?

11 REPLIES 11
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,610
Thanks: 6,662
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

Moderators Note.

moved to correct board
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,407
Thanks: 1,146
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

I would guess the network "mapping" is carried out remotely so there is no "visual" to suggest there might be something wrong,

 

As to how long the OR back office take to remedy this - your guess will be as good as any bodies.

 

The OR engineer should have submitted a report which should show up on PlusNet so at some point there should be an update to your FTTP "ticket" - look at "View my Questions" on your Members page.

 

Plus FTTP trained staff members do frequent this forum so one may come along in due course!!!

 

Brian

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,594
Thanks: 10,330
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

Welcome to the community forums @mobycat

I'm ringing Openreach now and I'll update your ticket shortly.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,594
Thanks: 10,330
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

Our suppliers are sending an e-mail over to the relevant team to figure out the best way forward.

We should know more by the 12th. Apologies for the inconvenience caused.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
mobycat
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-12-2016

Re: FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

Thats different to what I had been told when I last spoke to one of your colleagues, she said that you should have some more information by the 9th not the 12th. Its seems also that nobody can give me a timescale as to how long this is going to take..!!

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,594
Thanks: 10,330
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

Sorry to hear that. I've just passed you information I've received from Openreach.

The adviser I spoke to wasn't sure which team to send the order to, so he's raised it with a specialist team to investigate and figure out the best way forward. We've been advised to allow 2 working days for an update from that team.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
mobycat
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-12-2016

Re: FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

When I was speaking with the OR Engineer this morning he seemed to think it would take a couple of days to resolve as I just needed to be allocated to the correct pole and then a "rebuild" would need to be done, this is not filling me with much confidenece when Openreach don't even know which department to send it to..!!

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,594
Thanks: 10,330
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

I just thought I'd pop back on here.

I can see your FTTP order is complete. How's your new fibre service going?

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
mobycat
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-12-2016

Re: FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

It seems ok, getting about 72 Mbps download now.

 

Wondering though when are Plusnet going to be offering the same speeds that BT offer..? my neighbour gets 176 Mbps

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,594
Thanks: 10,330
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node

It seems ok, getting about 72 Mbps download now.

Glad to hear that.

 

Wondering though when are Plusnet going to be offering the same speeds that BT offer..? my neighbour gets 176 Mbps

Unfortunately we have no news to share on offering higher speeds I'm afraid.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
FxAxF
Rising Star
Posts: 56
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎20-11-2010

Re: FFTP New Installation Incompleted due to being attached to the wrong Node


@mobycat wrote:

 

 

... my neighbour gets 176 Mbps...


 

A few weeks back, I had a quick look at the pricing that "A Competitor Of PlusNet" was offering for really high bandwidth. £52 for 150mps down and £77 for up to 300mps down! Pricing....for me anyway....is still prohibitively high for the extra download. I'm installing for a little more bandwidth, but also a more stable ping and stable line in general. I'm lucky to have around 14mps down but a dire 0.3mps up....which kills doing any kind of business or even gaming activity beyond the basics.

I expect that once the market matures again in the next 5 or so years that limits will increase. I can still recall the bad old days of download limits, 0.5mps bandwidth. We've come a long way since, and I'm sure that FTTP will move along gradually Smiley