cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newcomer to Broadband

N/A

Newcomer to Broadband

Hi Everyone,

I am considering changing over from dialup with Tiscali to Broadband Plus with Plusnet. for £14.99 per month.

I am relatively new to computers and not terribly well versed technically so would welcome some advice before i proceed with my transfer.

How long will it take to transfer accounts?

Is the transfer a simple operation or should i seek expert advice?

Do Plusnet offer new free email accounts? Am i correct in thinking that once i cancel my Tiscali Account, i will no longer receive emails unless i carry on paying for their service?

Tiscali, for it's sins has an excellent number of interesting and informative forums for it's members. Will I be excommunicated once i severe my ties?

Is there any other information i should be aware of that may be useful to know.

Sorry If i appear a bit dim but i am getting on a bit and although a "breath of fresh air" computers can prove difficult at times, particularly on an infuriatingly very slow dialup service.

Grateful if someone will run through the changeover procedure with me

My computer is a Dell Dimension 4600 running Windows XP Home

Ernest

[Moderator's note by Liam Martin (martinfamily): Removed Duplicate Post]
10 REPLIES
N/A

Newcomer to Broadband

Hi there,

Firstly welcome to the forum.

As you are on dial up with Tiscali, its not a case of "transfering" your account. You will have to sign up to the adsl account with Plus Net, who will then liase with Bt to get your line activated and within 7-10 working days you will be online and active. the only part of the process that could be described as complicated is the setting up of your adsl modem or router. Most come with fairly straight forward instructions.