cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

will FTTdp cost more?

tony4384
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 20-06-2014

will FTTdp cost more?

Sorry about the capitals on the title  last may the BT outreach guy said he had our road scheduled for fibre to the pole about this time of year.
as the  line to the pole is for phone and any broadband and allowing for an increase in line rental will plusnet be charging extra for the  faster speed assuming we keep to our present speed package?
Tony
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,818
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: will FTTdp cost more?

Do you mean FTTP?
Where about's in the country are you?
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: will FTTdp cost more?

I'm not sure when they're going to roll it out in honesty. Sad
Even then, I'm not sure when I'll be able to learn to provision it. We don't have any plans to.
My apologies for this.
@Andy - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2013/07/a-look-at-future-fibre-to-the-distribution-point-broadb...
Matty
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
funderbird
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 19-11-2014

Re: will FTTdp cost more?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: will FTTdp cost more?

From what I've read about FTTdp it should cost no different to FTTC and have the same install requirements.
In a FTTdp set up there is essentially a mico-FTTC cabinet on the pole and the wire from the pole to your master socket stays the same.
It looks like it's only been used as part of the vectoring trials however - http://www.btplc.com/News/Articles/ShowArticle.cfm?ArticleID=1F647C20-6F61-4E0F-A545-E23443E128AB
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
RobPN
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 791
Thanks: 73
Fixes: 1
Registered: 17-05-2013

Re: will FTTdp cost more?

Quote from: funderbird
http://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/home/products/pricing/loadProductPriceDetails.do?data=0WyIM7tTGGgucFf0dXUIWK4XSAplAmgrRZNg5Pk%2B5%2F%2BkRgB7BL4KNYn%2FlKx2YB4Qe6YShZ82RgLO%0AGLsH2e9%2Bmw%3D%3D

That appears to refer solely to FTTPoD - the thread topic is FTTdp ...  Wink
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: will FTTdp cost more?

Hi,
At this stage we have no idea what an FTTdp product will look like in terms of price, speed, etc. all I can really say is keep eye on places like ISPReview and this forum, if we have any news then we'll post here. With it being copper between the DP and the end user property, then in the home the setup should be straightforward enough. I'm looking forward to hearing more and if Openreach are reading happy to volunteer my area for testing Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: will FTTdp cost more?

As no doubt you have Dave, I've heard all sorts of rumours about the equipment being developed, such as a mini cab to sit on top of distribution poles, modems that can go in the underground junction boxes, and the like.
Basically at the last join between the consumer and the network, because it's either that or deploying FTTP for blazing fast speeds to keep the UK broadband network on a par with the rest of the world.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)