cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

when will they be able to get fibre ?

St3
All Star
Posts: 2,392
Thanks: 385
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

when will they be able to get fibre ?

My parents connection is 1.5 meg which is pretty poor for doing anything other than surfing. Ive asked in the past if they can get fibre and it seams not yet, but 5 mins walk down the road ive seen a green cabinet which has a big sticker on saying fibre is here.... but seams that fibre aint here where they need it.
So what can be done ? Can we contact anyone to see if fibre will ever come to this area ? I did once ask plusnet via support ticket and i think i was told nothing can be done, but surely there must be somthing or somone we can cantact in order to try get it here?
My parents are currently paying £9.99 a month for 1.5meg connection with is too slow, plus they have their phone with plusnet too. Because of the fact the internet is so slow it might be worth them looking for another provider as some providers do offer cheaper internet or even free internet with speeds that low.
Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
52 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,728
Thanks: 1,312
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

Hi,
They can get fibre when this resource says it is available - http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/btwchecker.htm
There is nothing you can do but wait,  A cabinet does not need to be too far down the road before its useless for VDSL transmission.
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,392
Thanks: 385
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

they all say  available but show no speeds lol
Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,728
Thanks: 1,312
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

Do not understand your statement - that shows fibre to the premises upto 330Mbps as being available.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

It's FTTP which Plusnet don't officially support, they'd have to get on the trial, hope that whoever picks up the ticket understands the request (I gather there are 2 people in the provisioning team that know that FTTP isn't a mistyping of FTTC).
BT will happily provide them with FTTP.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,521
Thanks: 238
Fixes: 109
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

Can you PM me your parents username and I'll check that for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,017
Thanks: 734
Fixes: 165
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

If they log in to the member centre and go to Http://trials.plus.net they'll just need to answer the questions and send the request off and it will get picked up by one of our FTTP guys.
However I must stress that as FTTP is still only a trial, response times can be delayed and there are quite often delays on the orders with our suppliers.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,392
Thanks: 385
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

i pm u matt be nice to know if they could get the 40/2 or whatever the upload speeds are now, and be nice to know what they would pay.
Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,017
Thanks: 734
Fixes: 165
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

It does advise the speeds/cost on the page for FTTP trials, although I've just queried the speeds as it still seems to advise of 40/20 for the lower package.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,392
Thanks: 385
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

From reading the terms and conditions im slightly put off by a few things, eg plusnet can end the trial at anytime.... support tickets can take upto 2 weeks to be answered, how reliable is this FTTP Trial?
Also why is there so much more fuss about getting this FTTP installed ? Why is it not as straight foward as a normal upgrade to fibre. I basicly want to try get them signed upto fibre 40/20 package but from reading all the info on it, its kinda putting me off.  Undecided
And how long are fttp trials running for before fttp becomes the norm? and anyone can order it ?
Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,728
Thanks: 1,312
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

Hi,
Frankly you don't have much choice.  FTTC and FTTP have significant connection differences.  With FTTC the last leg of the connection is the same copper wire from the cabinet as you already have.  With FTTP the fibre has to be brought right up to the property, so installation is more involved..
By the looks of the availability report BTw is not offering FTTC at that address, so you gave the option of staying on ADSL or moving to FTTP.  Given the option, I'd go for it.
PlusNET can only offer what is available from BTw.
Hope that helps to clarify matters.
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 584
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

@st3
If you want a fully supported Retail packaged product then go to the BT Retail site as they sell FTTP as a normal product .
If you use the cash back websites then you may get a really good deal especially as you would be ordering  "Infintity 1" FTTP (40/10) and that is the market segment were good deals can be had.
As to why is there more fuss about FTTP installs, well they are harder to do. Openreach have to run a fibre optic cable to the house and that is the problem area. If the cable goes underground then there is the real possibility that the cable ducts have become blocked and the engineers need to get that problem fixed. Or if, as in Cornwall, the fibre goes via poles, then there may be trees in the way which need to be pruned first or other obstacles to the clear path of the fibre. It is a real engineering job, on pare with installing a new line at a property which has no existing infrastructure. And finally, as it is a multiple person job and time consuming and a specialist job, it is harder for Openreach to schedule staff as it stops them working on other issues or means that they have to travel quite a distance from their normal area so get less hours in the day in which to work.
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,392
Thanks: 385
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

cheers for the info, i know that my parents cables are all underground and theres an underground box not far from them on the pavement and all the phone connections are inside of it. If BT offer FTTP as standard then when do u think plusnet will be doing the same ? We are happy with plusnet and ideally we would prefer to stick with plusnet, i just dont know if my parents could manage with the trial, because im the one who sorts her net account for her and you know what parents are like as they get older they dont like change or too much fuss Smiley If plusnet were to make FTTP a standard package in the next few months or so then i might be better of waiting.
Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 584
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

I have no idea, the trial has been ongoing for 4 years but I doubt it will be packaged up any time soon as the time to train all the staff would be too large given the issues they currently have helping the current users on FTTC and ADSL.
The last comment a few months ago from Plusnet, was that there were no plans to change the status of the trial one way or the other.
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,392
Thanks: 385
Fixes: 2
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: when will they be able to get fibre ?

maybe they dont have enough intrest in FTTP and its maybe pointless trying to promote, i think i may have to look at the bt option then. Maybe ill have to move both phone and internet to BT.
Win 10
i7 7700k
GTX 970