cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

telephony over the fibre.

Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 560
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2008

telephony over the fibre.

When the BT OR technician did my internal install he told me about the phone sockets in the OR modem.
He said that when the lights light up I can plug the phone in as the wire loop will be disconnect after a few weeks of that happening.
Has this happened to anyone on FTTP yet, and how long after the FTTP was installed
5 REPLIES
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 584
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: telephony over the fibre.

That is only for BT Retail customers if they take the FVA option (Fibre Voice Access), Plusnet do not offer voice over fibre.
libbyf
Rising Star
Posts: 68
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: 18-11-2015

Re: telephony over the fibre.

Plusnet don't support FVA. Have you arranged with BT/other to supply it?
Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 560
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2008

Re: telephony over the fibre.

No I haven't -
libbyf
Rising Star
Posts: 68
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: 18-11-2015

Re: telephony over the fibre.

Then your phoneline will continue to be via the copper. Smiley
Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 560
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2008

Re: telephony over the fibre.

Good, I would much prefer to retire the wired telephony because although the OR modem has battery backup for a couple of hours - I much prefer to have good old fashioned POTS
thanks for your help folks