cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Static IP

FIXED
Teece
Grafter
Posts: 38
Fixes: 2
Registered: 08-04-2008

Static IP

Stage two of my install is scheduled today.  I was wondering if anyone knows how the handoff from the previous service (FTTC in my case) to FTTP is done?  I have a static IP, so that would need to be assigned to the new service.

5 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,805
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 62
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Static IP

Assuming you'll be using the same PPP credentials to log into the service, your static IP will remain as is.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Teece
Grafter
Posts: 38
Fixes: 2
Registered: 08-04-2008

Re: Static IP

Thanks @bobpullen - the OR engineer has finished the job, the ONT has a nice green light - but the FTTP connection doesn't appear to be live.  The FTTC connection still has the static IP address.  Does someone need to flick a switch at your end?

Teece
Grafter
Posts: 38
Fixes: 2
Registered: 08-04-2008

Re: Static IP

Fix

Ah, fixed it myself - just disconnected the FTTC modem and power-cycled the ONT.  Speed is not quite at FTTP levels yet, at least on the upload.  I had asked for the account to be upgraded to 80/20, so perhaps that hasn't been done yet.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,805
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 62
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Static IP

Try another disconnect/reconnect.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Teece
Grafter
Posts: 38
Fixes: 2
Registered: 08-04-2008

Re: Static IP

Thanks @bobpullen - that has improved matters somewhat - still not quite 80/20, but I saw your note on the ticket.