cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Fibre Router and modem question.

Timalay
Grafter
Posts: 158
Registered: 02-05-2010

Plusnet Fibre Router and modem question.

What is the router and modem that plusnet supply with their Fibre product.  I thought there was a page on the site somewhere that showed you the equipment.
Also is it posable to have a new master socket installed on a rented property?
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Fibre Router and modem question.

The router is the Netgear WRN1000 wireless N 4 port LAN 1 port WAN.
The VDSL modem is supplied by BT when they visit to configure your fibre connection.
Also who actually owns the phone line... sometimes it is the landlord.
Why do you need to change the NT5E? If you want the VDSL modem to be located in a different place to the NT5E then BT can fit a data extension cable from the master socket to a more convenient location (within 20 metres I think).
Timalay
Grafter
Posts: 158
Registered: 02-05-2010

Re: Plusnet Fibre Router and modem question.

Quote from: Peter
Why do you need to change the NT5E? If you want the VDSL modem to be located in a different place to the NT5E then BT can fit a data extension cable from the master socket to a more convenient location (within 20 metres I think).

I just thought they changed it to make it compatable with Fibre.
[Moderator's note by Dick (Strat): Full quote edited as per Forum Rules ] but leaving relevant line.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Fibre Router and modem question.

They just replace the lower, removable part of the NT5E with a filtered faceplate which has separate DSL & phone connections. There is no change to the physical 2 wire connection into your premises, it's just the signalling that is different, hence the need for a VDSL modem rather than an ADSL modem you use now.
Timalay
Grafter
Posts: 158
Registered: 02-05-2010

Re: Plusnet Fibre Router and modem question.

That's fine but I live in a rented accommodation, would this be problem with getting the faceplate changed?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,722
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 31
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Fibre Router and modem question.

@Timalay,
You'd need to check with your landlord re that...
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Timalay
Grafter
Posts: 158
Registered: 02-05-2010

Re: Plusnet Fibre Router and modem question.

Ok thanks.