cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

sri130
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-06-2015

No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

Jumped on the FTTP trial and was fortunate to get BT open reach out for the first phase of connecting the house to the street duct.
After 45 minutes he says he can't do it - showed me that the rod will just not bend at where my house duct, meets the street duct - 95% of the run Sad
I doubt its a blockage, its more likely the two ducts meet at too much of an angle for the rods to bend around, but it still needs sorting.
After that visit, complete silence from Plusnet, despite my repeated prompts.
Randomly a large X has been painted on the path where the approximately blockage is with "BT" next to it - but nothing further.
Anyone else been in this position?
23 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,626
Thanks: 611
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

Hi there,
As FTTP is still in trial, the turnaround times can be a fair bit longer than normal due to the low number of staff trained on how to order the product. I've given them a nudge to ask them to look at your ticket.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
beeceegee
Rising Star
Posts: 511
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 1
Registered: 27-11-2012

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

When our street was being hooked up a lot of time was lost with BT trying to get permission from the landowner (privately owned road) to dig holes to fix a problem in the ducting between the DP and the base of the pole. They duly dug their trench, filled it all in and tarred it over nicely, only to find there was still a problem, so they had to go through the whole procedure again. Worth the wait though  Smiley
sri130
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-06-2015

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

I'm sure it'll be worth the wait, but a little 'update' would be ideal.
The road is adopted by the local council, so the very least bit of information such as 'awaiting highways visual inspection' or something would at least keep it ticking along.  Rather than nothing.
It's a soft dig - no tarmac, albeit bricked road surface - so I could probably get the shovels out myself and make a start...
sri130
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-06-2015

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

No update still...
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,626
Thanks: 611
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

Sorry about this but I've just looked at the order and it's been cancelled due to an issue during the process. We need to get this replaced and keep you updated. I'm going to find out how to get this placed and we'll update you tomorrow.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
sri130
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-06-2015

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

What?!??!?!?!
Please let me know:
[Moderator's note by Dick (Strat) Phone number removed from a public forum but available to PN.
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

Sorry for the delay in updating you on this. Your order was cancelled by our suppliers. This is more a clerical issue than anything, and won't detrimentally impact you.
Your order's been replaced, and the two have been amalgamated together. We are now waiting on Openreach for a resolution to the ducting issue. As soon as we get an update, I'll let you know. Apologies for the delay.
Matty
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
sri130
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-06-2015

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

Open reach came out again last week.
"hasn't this been dug up yet?" where the engineers first comments.
He had a go at rodding it again, but with the same outcome.
We now have a Yellow X - where there was previously a white one.
I asked if there was any update via the open ticket/question, but haven't heard anything. 
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,522
Thanks: 238
Fixes: 110
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

MattyC isn't in at the moment so I'll get someone else to look into it.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
BRABUS
Grafter
Posts: 660
Registered: 12-01-2010

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

Any updates?
sri130
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-06-2015

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

Nope.
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

Apologies for the lack of updates. We've been advised to reappoint your order by Openreach. I've gotten you a date booked in. Ticket: 104038297 refers.
Matty
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
sri130
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-06-2015

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

Hi Matty,
I've noted the date for the internal appointment, but there still isn't any fibre under the ground.  Openreach came out and dug up the duct and said I'd have to have an 'overlay' trench dug on the front lawn, as the duct had a weird arrangement where it met my house.
I'm happy for the digging to commence, but no date has been advertised for that, so the 30th might be a wasted appointment.
Can you ask Openreach what and when is happening with the dig?
Thanks
sri130
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-06-2015

Re: No Fibre - No update - blocked duct :(

Matty - can you check what is going on with Open reach?
Internal appointment is now 7 days away.
But I'm still not connected to the duct in the street (so 2nd appt would be a waste).
I've said all along I'm happy to have an overlay/trench on the front lawn, which is tiny anyway.  The duct is 4 metres from my front door.