cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre To The Premises on demmand

nathanlewis
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 25-04-2014

Fibre To The Premises on demmand

Hi I am wondering if FTTP on demand is on my exchange and I know PN does not currently not offer the 330/30 if the customer was willing to the pay the installation costs would PN look at providing FTTP?
13 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

Hi,
The good news is that FTTPoD is available, the bad news, it's not cheap.
There are 4 elements to the cost to us for FTTPoD, there's a basic installation fee which applies to all orders, a distance based price based around how far you are from the street cabinet, excess construction charges if additional work beyond the norm is required (for example major underground digging or installation of new telegraph poles) and a monthly charge.
The provisional cost to install FTTPoD for your property is
Basic installation fee - £750 + VAT
Distance Based charge - band D £2450 + VAT
Excess construction charges - estimated at £0 but a survey will be required to confirm
Monthly charge - £200 per month
There would also be a 3 year contract. Total cost for 3 years £11040 plus any excess construction charges.
If you have any more questions or need any more information then please let me know.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,213
Thanks: 909
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

bloody hell  Crazy
nathanlewis
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 25-04-2014

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

Could be worse would you mind getting a better price for me I'm about half an mile from the exchange as a ticket for me.
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

The distance from the exchange is unfortunately irrelevant.  You'll need to be connected up to the fibre manifold (aggregation node) that also feeds your FTTC cabinet.
nathanlewis
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 25-04-2014

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

Would PN know if that's the case in my area
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,884
Thanks: 164
Fixes: 3
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

I think that is actually your quote based on your details Sad
nathanlewis
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 25-04-2014

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

hope it not that bad been quoted a lot less
Basic installation fee - £500 + VAT
Distance Based charge - band D £1000 + VAT
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

IngeJones
Grafter
Posts: 81
Thanks: 2
Registered: 07-01-2014

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

The installation charges look reasonable, but why is it so much more per month?  I mean I expect to pay more for better bandwidth, but isn't that disproportionate?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,200
Thanks: 887
Fixes: 101
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

I noticed that FFToD was available on my exchange now.. was wondering how much. quite horrendous.
Will Moderate For Thanks
acarneiro
Grafter
Posts: 100
Registered: 20-03-2012

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

IngeJones actually has a good point. Paying 10 times as much for 3-4 times the bandwidth seems a bit odd, doesn't it?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,818
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

Perhaps the monthly charge covers the maintenance of the equipment or it covers some of the capital expense of the installation?
IngeJones
Grafter
Posts: 81
Thanks: 2
Registered: 07-01-2014

Re: Fibre To The Premises on demmand

Well that wouldn't be fair, as someone who kept the service for 50 years would end up paying far more for installation than someone who only kept it for the contract minimum.  I suspect strategic pricing since they want to be seen to offer a high quality service on demand to suit businesses etc, but do not actually want too many people to demand it.  Ie it's probably something that's almost more trouble than it's worth to them but its existence enhances their service portfolio.  I am talking more about OpenReach than PlusNet here.