cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTP Speeds:

tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

FTTP Speeds:

I asked to be upgraded to the 80Mb package last week but still remain to see that speed, when i was first activated for FTTP i was getting 80Mb and then for some reason was dropped down to the 40Mb package, anyways i asked to upgrade back to it but no matter what i try i can no seem to get near the 80Mb i used to get (now i am back on the 80Mb package) i have spoke to plusnet and they don't seem to have much clue about FTTP, testing the telephone for faults etc which i have told them is pointless as it is a FTTP line, doesn't touch the telephone line, i am connected via ethernet so it isn't a wireless problem either, anyone else had similar problems if so how did you fix it?.
This is the kind of speed i am getting at the moment.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/4188571898.png
22 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

Are you testing wired or wireless?
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

As mentioned in my post i am connecting via ethernet (wired).
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,244
Thanks: 933
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: FTTP Speeds:

have you checked the current line speed on the portal
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

Yeah current line speed is 80Mb.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

Have you tried rebooting your router and the ONT?
Also try this speed test - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

I have tried switching off all equipment and waiting an hour and then back on again and that test i have just tried and same results as the one i posted.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

Have you tried the BT Speed Tester/Further Diagnostics? If you fail that test, it gives you another test to run (TAP3).
Highlighted
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

I think so, i know i opened a fault thing with plusnet but that didnt do much good as they was testing the line etc, have you got a link to this BT test?.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/
Double check your IP Profile here in case something has become messed up.
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

Done the test and got the same speed as on the other tests, when i did a further diagnostic and put my post code in i got this error message.
Your speed test has completed and the results are shown above, however during the test an error occurred while trying to retrieve additional details regarding your service. As a result we are unable to determine if the speed you received during the test is acceptable for your service. Please re-run the test if you require this additional information.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

I think you'll need to raise a fault ticket then. It's a bit of a puzzle as you won't be on the 40/10 product as you're getting fast speeds and it doesn't look like the PN line speed is an issue either.
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

I have raised a fault with plusnet already and they have found nothing wrong and passed it back to me to check cables etc, so not sure where to go from here.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

Were you using the Plusnet router? If not (and you still have the Plusnet router), can you try that?
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: FTTP Speeds:

I have always used the plusnet router, i don't own another one.