cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTP Router

FIXED
jimscott
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

FTTP Router

Hi all,

 

I have just signed up to the FTTP trial and my PlusNet router has arrived. The router is a PlusNet One, I am jumping the gun here but when my fibre is installed what link will I be using the DSL or the WAN socket?

 

Just curious.

 

Jim

 

6 REPLIES
DaveyH
Pro
Posts: 1,265
Thanks: 170
Fixes: 6
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: FTTP Router

The WAN port 

jimscott
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: FTTP Router

Cheers DaveyH,

 

What can I expect Open Reach to install inside / outside the house?

 

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,522
Thanks: 238
Fixes: 109
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: FTTP Router

As advised above you'll need to connect the modem that Openreach install to the WAN port on the router

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
DaveyH
Pro
Posts: 1,265
Thanks: 170
Fixes: 6
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: FTTP Router

Fix

jimscott wrote:

What can I expect Open Reach to install inside / outside the house?


 

http://tom.goskar.com/2013/09/20/my-fibre-to-the-premises-fttp-installation-part-1/

 

http://tom.goskar.com/2013/09/20/my-fibre-to-the-premises-fttp-installation-part-1/

 

 

Though BT are now beginning to use connectorised fibre rather than fusion splicing, so installation H/W may differ

bmc
Pro
Posts: 393
Thanks: 71
Fixes: 3
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: FTTP Router

@jimscott

There is an old and a new method of installing FTTP at a customers premises - it all depends on how recent the local network install was done.

 

You've already been given links to the old method. If you read through the following you'll get details on the new.

http://blog.thinkbroadband.com/2016/06/a-peek-at-the-future-world-of-openreach-fttp/

 

Basically the new method only requires one visit and uses one cable. It is pre-connected at one end to join to the network and the other end is run into your house and then connected to the Optical Network Terminator (ONT). You then use an Ethernet cable from the ONT to the router.

 

You might get an idea of what's what if you put your phone number into the DSL checker. It will have a narrative about FTTP. Mine has "UG proven clear" which means an underground connection with the cable duct to the house clear (I know because I watched them check it and leave a draw rope in place for the install (due tomorrow if OR turn up this time!!!).

http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome

 

Brian

jimscott
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: FTTP Router

Cheers Brian,

Our fibre cable went in last month to the chamber at the end of the drive and the duct to our house is only 2 years old. As like you say I have seen them put a draw rope in a few weeks ago. So hopefully fingers crossed I get some decent speeds shortly, unlike the <1Mb I currently get.