cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTP Plusnet Provided Router

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 6,268
Thanks: 1,702
Fixes: 323
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: FTTP Plusnet Provided Router

*Phew* Because I think we’re starting to run out of routers. Cheesy
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
leehowarth
Grafter
Posts: 54
Registered: 01-08-2010

Re: FTTP Plusnet Provided Router

@Gandalf

Feel really cheeky asking as I'm not a PN old timer like some on here but are there any more routers hiding in the back of the cupboard?

I wouldn't ask but I'm having no end of trouble with this one. I'm finding I'm having to set up new connections on most devices almost every time I use them. I live in a 3 storey house so would expect WiFi issues but being honest I've never noticed issues like this with any other routers. When I set up connections again I can see the WiFi network but they just aren't connecting automatically. It's happening to lots of different devices such as televisions, tablets, consoles.

This must be a firmware issue as I've had older BT home hubs work really well in this house.

Alternatively if you have any suggestions I'm all ears as in its current state its getting close to useless ☺️
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 6,268
Thanks: 1,702
Fixes: 323
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: FTTP Plusnet Provided Router

@leehowarth the router we've sent you is fairly new still. Whilst that doesn't mean it can't be faulty, I'd be surprised if it was at fault. Can you try the steps here and here letting us know how it goes?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,296
Thanks: 30
Registered: 19-07-2007

Re: FTTP Plusnet Provided Router

Thanks Galdalf, the router arrived a few days ago and I've been using it since, there is no empirical evidence but it does feel a bit snappier, it can also be used as a night-light to keep the ghosties away in the bedroom Tongue

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 6,268
Thanks: 1,702
Fixes: 323
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: FTTP Plusnet Provided Router

there is no empirical evidence but it does feel a bit snappier

Glad to hear it's working well for you.

 

it can also be used as a night-light to keep the ghosties away in the bedroom Tongue

Don't forget the internet monsters under the bed too.

I'm kidding, there's no such thing... I hope.

 

Joking aside again.

There should be an option in the router settings at 192.168.1.254 to turn the brightness down if you need to.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
leehowarth
Grafter
Posts: 54
Registered: 01-08-2010

Re: FTTP Plusnet Provided Router

@Gandalf

Ive had the 2.4 and 5GHz split from the start, I always do that. See attached.

I've bought a Netgear WiFi extender, I'll see how that goes. Whenever a device won't connect or keeps disconnecting I'll connect it to the extender instead. It's clear this router isn't up to the job, I'm using a WiFi analyser and I can see the extender provides a better signal in every part of the house, even when I'm nearer to the router. It's clear this router isn't up to the job.