cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTP - Milton Keynes

Stuaz
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 26-08-2007

FTTP - Milton Keynes

Hi,
Just wondering if Plusnet are able to give me any details on the Milton Keynes exchange getting FTTP?
Open reach have told me I will be enabled in April 2013 but nothing yet. Just wondering if PN would be willing to share more and if you guys could offer me the service?
Postcode is MK3 5AY.
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,818
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTP - Milton Keynes

Hi
Newton Leys right?
There were some discussions about this on the MKBAG Forum last week:
http://uk.groups.yahoo.com/group/MKBAG/message/7129
http://uk.groups.yahoo.com/group/MKBAG/message/7008
Most of BT's timeframes in MK have overrun for fibre. Have you seen any BT vans/Carillon contractors in the area recently?
Stuaz
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 26-08-2007

Re: FTTP - Milton Keynes

Hi Andy,
Yeah I am a member of that group, just wondered if plus net have any information as to whether they will offer the service. Not many ISP work with FTTP!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,818
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTP - Milton Keynes

You can sign up for FTTP here http://trials.plus.net (once it goes live in your area).
I hope at some point soon PN offer a full range of FTTP packages. Even though it's a niche product, there are more and more houses being switched on. One problem is there is no marketing for FTTP - countless people around me don't even know it's available and they are still using their 1-3Mb ADSL connections.
FTTP is very limited with ISPs. AAISP are good - but pricey if you use data, which is so easy to do with fibre. BT Infinity I wouldn't touch in a million years.
Stuaz
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 26-08-2007

Re: FTTP - Milton Keynes

Yeah was trying to avoid BT if I could...currently with Sky (This account is for another line). So I believe I will have to cancel the Sky and take an ADSL account with PlusNet to get the FTTP even though the line is separate to the ADSL.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,818
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTP - Milton Keynes

Yeah you need a PN ADSL account first. It might be worth doing this soon (just get a monthly contract) as it can take a little while and PN can't place your FTTP order without it.