cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extension Cable

Birdzilla
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 15-11-2010

Extension Cable

The BT engineer installed my new modem today. The modem is in the hall next to the phone. - not ideal. Can anyone tell me how I can relocate the BT modem upstairs to a better position. Is there an extension cable/kit available?
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,341
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Extension Cable

Why didn't you ask the engineer to run a cable and install the modem where you wanted?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Birdzilla
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 15-11-2010

Re: Extension Cable

The BT engineer was very pleasant but insisted that as it was Plusnet he wasnt authorised to do anything apart from changing the faceplate, attaching the BT modem and making sure the phone still worked. Tried showing him the instructions we were given but he called in to the depot and confirmed his instructions.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Extension Cable

Hi,
I've been on to BT to try and find out why they didn't install the extension kit as we authorise it to be installed on all orders if it's required. They aren't sure and are investigating. I'll let you know when I know.
Luzern
Pro
Posts: 2,802
Thanks: 211
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Extension Cable

Asked out of interest or nosiness Undecided Wink
If one has a hard wired extension whose end point is not used for phone, can it be used for the FTTC (kit) in any way at all?
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Birdzilla
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 15-11-2010

Re: Extension Cable

Forgot to include before and after figures which are quite interesting as the upload is significantly higher than the download.
help how do you include the speed graphic into a message ?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Extension Cable

If you use mybroadbandspeed.co.uk the easiest way is to click the share link next to the speedtest result and it gives you some URLs you can copy. Pick the forum link one and copy it below like this.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,341
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Extension Cable

The code will look like this:
[url=http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk][img width=200 height=100]http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/61724971.png[/img][/url]
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Birdzilla
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 15-11-2010

Re: Extension Cable

Before

After

After moving modem and using long cable