cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

gareth99
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 13-04-2011

Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

Hi PlusNet,
I was connected yesterday to FTTC yesterday by a friendly BT engineeer. Managed to get it all working, but i'm still being ADSL speeds (3MB/1MB), am I still on a ADSL profile? Also, the engineer showed me on his equipment I had a 2M upload cap.
Can my profile be changed please and cap removed. His equipment showed me that I can get 38k/18k. The upload is the main reason I went for FTTC over my unlimted adsl.
I have a ticket but it's not been answered yet (41817990)
10 REPLIES
phil4
Grafter
Posts: 244
Registered: 13-12-2007

Re: Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

Yes, you're still on the old profile, though you should find upload is mostly uncapped, and will go as fast as allowed.
When you ordered FTTC did you do it as part of the trial, or through the normal commercial product route?  Also, when you got a speed estimate was your upload estimated <6,  eg. 5.9?
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

Hi gareth99,
That's done for you now. You should see the speed change shortly.
Jojo Smiley
gareth99
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 13-04-2011

Re: Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

Excellent, thanks Jojo  Grin
FYI, I did it as part of the full production release of FTTC.
gareth99
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 13-04-2011

Re: Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

Just checked, remotely. Upload speed still seems quite a way off. Can you confirm that there is not a cap and i'm I just being impatient  Cheesy
phil4
Grafter
Posts: 244
Registered: 13-12-2007

Re: Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

Gareth my understanding is that PN only do 2Mb upload through the commercial product you ordered.    You will be the first to use these forums to try and change that, let us know how it goes!
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

HI gareth99,
As phil4 correctly states, the fibre product is provided with an upload of 2Mbps, what are you seeing?
Jojo Smiley
gareth99
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 13-04-2011

Re: Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

Hi.
I'm seeing just over 1, will I need to re-login?
Hmm, thats annoying as that is why I wanted fttc, I was about to go with Aquiss as they offer more than 2m upload.
Thanks
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

Hi gareth99,
are you using wireless? If so could you see what you get over ethernet?
Jojo Smiley
gareth99
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 13-04-2011

Re: Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

Hi Jojo,
Nope, not using wireless. Testing from a physical server attach direct to the router.
Do you need me to relogin?
The download increased when you did what you did ealier, but the upload has stayed the same. It's the same as I was getting on my old adsl2 service.
thanks
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Connect to FTTC yesterday, still have adsl profile / speed

Hi gareth99,
If you could plug your computer - via ethernet - directly into the modem and set up a dialler and see what the speed is like via that. Instructions on how to do that are here for Vista/Windows7 or here for XP
Jojo Smiley