cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bit of a rant... Sorry

rmachines
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 11-08-2015

Bit of a rant... Sorry

I had my fttp fitted last week,  the openreach engineer had no router other than the vsdl2 supplied by openreach,  upon calling plusnet I was told they don't supply a router as it's out of contract on the trials etc..  I have had to borrow a router from work for now,  but it seems a bit stupid that you install the service but provide absolutly no equipment to connect to the service.  I know it's a trial,  but I'm still paying for this service so would expect the provision of a compatible router...?    Is this normal?    I would have at least liked to have know this as I could have budgeted for a new router prior to installation.
9 REPLIES
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 584
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Bit of a rant... Sorry

Plusnet supplied a FTTP compatible router to me, that was over 2 years ago now. It was posted out prior to the FTTP ONT install.
Since then I have bought other routers as I wanted a dual band router and then upgrade to an AC Wifi router.
jim1985
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Registered: 28-04-2015

Re: Bit of a rant... Sorry

The FTTP Trials sign up page clearly states:
Quote
As part of the trial we'll supply you with a free router. Most ADSL routers are not compatible with FTTP. If you want to supply your own router then please let us know but be aware that the router you're using must support PPPoE over an Ethernet/WAN port

I'd get back in contact with them and point this out as they most certainly should have provided you with an FTTP compatible router.

You will still need to use the OpenReach supplied modem, your FTTP compatible router will then connect to this via ethernet the same as I imagine you currently have your work borrowed router connected to it Smiley
rmachines
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: Bit of a rant... Sorry

Thanks for the replies,  I will get onto them again,  I did fine it a  bit strange. 
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,818
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Bit of a rant... Sorry

Is this definitely part of the FTTP trial and not FTTC?
jim1985
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Registered: 28-04-2015

Re: Bit of a rant... Sorry

Yes definitely. When you visit the FTTP Trials sign up page, the section of text that I have quoted in my previous post is about a third of the way down the page of text Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,818
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Bit of a rant... Sorry

Sorry, I was referring back to the OP's post Smiley
He mentioned the VDSL2 modem, which is for FTTC and not FTTP. Just clarifying whether he's on the FTTP trial.
rmachines
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: Bit of a rant... Sorry

Sorry,  yes I do mean FTTP I'm assuming the openreach modem is a vsdl2 modem,  but anyway that was supplied by bt,  but no router was sent. 
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: Bit of a rant... Sorry

Yeah, that's not true. Sorry for the misinformation.
I'll get you a router sent out today.
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
rmachines
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: Bit of a rant... Sorry

Text recived saying it's on its way,  much appreciated.