cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

when do you get router for new fibre

vfr750
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-09-2015

when do you get router for new fibre

I have signed up for fibre,to be installed on 16/09/15.
when will my new router arrive.
15 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,487
Thanks: 248
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

Hi there,
Welcome to the Community and thanks for signing up with us.
We send out our routers to arrive 2 or 3 days prior to the installation.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
vfr750
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-09-2015

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

Still no sign of router, Sad
plusnet online chat not working.
any way of checking the router has been sent.
BT have confirmed they will be here tomorrow afternoon.
I have a BT hub 4 which i could use,
but i will need a long Ethernet cable,
i was told my router kit was to be supplied with a 10m cable.
will the BT engineer have any long cables with him.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

Quote
Still no sign of router

Sadly not an uncommon occurrence these days as PN customer service goes from bad to worse. Obviously the router could still arrive tomorrow but your HH4 will be OK & the engineer will have plenty of cabling.
Good luck.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,487
Thanks: 248
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

Not good, apologies for this vfr750.
I can see it was ordered yesterday but doesn't show as dispatched.
Ordering another now
You can use your HH4 in the meantime but would need to source your own ethernet cable if a longer one is needed.
UPDATE: Due to the timings involved this should reach you tomorrow, please PM me if not.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

Quote
Ordering another now

To me this is a real anomally with PN whereby so many errors can only be rectified by the PN staff who man these forums. Nice one Adam. Smiley
vfr750
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-09-2015

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

openreach engineer got here before router,
so set up first on bt hub4.
then plusnet router arrived.
thanks to Adam.
so we set up on that one.
very poor download speeds on both routers, under 6mbits/s.
upload speed as quoted for the 40-2 package
will this settle down to a higher speed or do i have a fault
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,598
Thanks: 699
Fixes: 67
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

Plusnet haven't switched your profile to fibre yet as the downstream speed is the old ADSL speed.
You can check what Plusnet have set your line speed to at https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed . it will ask for your Plusnet username and password.
Once it shows a higher speed, you will need to log on to the router and perform a disconnect /reconnect to get the higher speed.
vfr750
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-09-2015

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

i have just tried as suggested.
It is showing 40mb line speed
i did a disconnect /reconnect
still the same download speed 5mb Embarrassed
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,598
Thanks: 699
Fixes: 67
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

Looks like something has not been set up correctly either at Plusnet or BTW. There have been a couple of these reports on the forums in the past few weeks.
As Plusnet staff have not commented on this thread, then  you  need to get Plusnet on the case. There is a sticky on this forum called "Fibre Fault Guides" which will point you to http://community.plus.net/library/broadband/broadband-faults-guide-fttc/ .
Follow the section marked  "Speed Fault (EPP)" and then log the fault at http://faults.plus.net/
Or you could wait for a Plusnet staffer to see this thread and hope that they take pity on you and check out the system for you.
vfr750
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-09-2015

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

Thanks georgelnx
for the suggestions
i have tried a PPPoE connection ,
as well as the bt speedtest.
i could not get part 3 of the test to open though.
still the same speeds so i have logged a fault.
not a good start to fibre  Angry
vfr750
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-09-2015

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

I have done some more tests.
I moved the modem and router to the loft next to the bt mastersocket.
so short cable only needed.
I tried with my laptop plugged in by Ethernet
the speeds are sill the same 5mb. Cry
how long do i have to wait before an engineer call out.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,622
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

Your profile had gone back to it's old ADSL value which will have been causing this.
Can you try a reboot of your router and then retest it?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
vfr750
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-09-2015

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

Yeah  
37mb that more like it.  Cheesy
wi fi seems to be very poor signal wise though,
can you select which channel to use on the router [ 2704N ]
ok i have found out how to change channels will try later
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: when do you get router for new fibre

Quote
wi fi seems to be very poor signal wise though,

Sadly that is the case. I've replaced mine with an Asus.