cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

FIXED
raoulsilva
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 04-02-2013

thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

evening,

currently on fibre, thinking of going to extra mainly because of slow upload (between 1 and 2 meg). 

Can anyone/Plusnet tell me what type of improvement i can expect before upgrading?

Thanks

13 REPLIES
Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,710
Thanks: 515
Fixes: 37
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

Have a look here.

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,572
Thanks: 1,102
Fixes: 127
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

Put your phone number here https://www.btwholesale.com/includes/adsl/adsl.htm?s_cid=ws_furls_adslchecker for a good estimation Smiley
Will Moderate For Thanks
raoulsilva
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

Thanks both. 

Output below (but not sure what product this would relate to?)

fibre-extra-estimate.JPG

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,572
Thanks: 1,102
Fixes: 127
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

Fix
your upload should be between 16 and 20mbps - a big improvement over 1-2 Smiley

You need to be looking at vdsl
Will Moderate For Thanks
raoulsilva
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

thanks dvorak.  In that case, think its worth the £5 extra. Thumbs Up

Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,710
Thanks: 515
Fixes: 37
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

The one which is applicable to you is the first one, VDSL.

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

Just to add to the previous comments, we would use the clean range as your fibre estimate. Unless advised by an engineer that the line is impacted.

Either way, still a pretty nice jump.
I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
raoulsilva
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

thanks Anoush. Is it just a matter of upgrading, no hardware costs or downtime?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

Yep. If you already have a fibre package then you can use your existing equipment.

All you would need to do is put through the product change either online or by phone.

We would place a modify order automatically and there shouldn't be any downtime.
I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
markhawkin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 206
Thanks: 26
Fixes: 4
Registered: 17-07-2016

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

@raoulsilva

 

Absolutely worth an upgrade. I went for Fibre Extra exactly for that reason, to get the higher upload speed (in my case 18Mb/s).

I've been very pleased with it. I have a static IP address (which relates to my previous Metronet account I think) and a  VPN works very nicely with it.

Quite why Plusnet think that a 2Mb/s upload is acceptable is another question. What Plusnet should sell as fibre is the 55/10 product that BT have.

 

I am the satisfied customer....
raoulsilva
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

Received the email saying the product change has completed, so just wondering how long it will take to take affect? I rebooted the router thinking that may help, but no dice.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

@raoulsilva Can you private message me with your username please? Your forum username appears to be linked to an old account.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: thinking of upgrading to fibre extra

Thank you for your PM. It's looking like the modify order didn't go through automatically I'm afraid. I'm in the process of placing it now. It'll complete tomorrow.

 

Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support