cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

restarted router 3 time today

campinggaz
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-03-2016

restarted router 3 time today

having to restart router most days, at least with the new router i dont have to do it first thing after waking, but today 3 times ive had to restart, the third time i did a factory reset, not had no luck so for only been on here 2/3 weeks

 

oh an at least talktalk was 24 hour call, 7 while 10 whats that about?

15 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: restarted router 3 time today

Can you explain exactly what the problem is that is causing you to reboot the router. How/when the problem is affecting you - eg.when streaming, browsing, uploading etc.
Do you have a separate Modem or is it the Plusnet Hub One?

Can you run the BTw Performance test, (DON'T REBOOT, ignore the red preamble except make sure no other programs are using the Internet) and at the end of the first run, click the Further Diagnostics button, enter just your Phone number and Run the Further Diagnostics Test.
Do a Copy and Paste of the results and post here (no need to grab an image).

Can you also post your Current Line speed (Login required) - don't post your phone number.

Lastly, use the BT DSL Checker and copy/paste the output of that - remember to delete your phone number from the displayed output.

campinggaz
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-03-2016

Re: restarted router 3 time today

well spoke too soon, just got up our girt said had no internet all morning, not very good is it, on my Plusnet Hub One,

 

 



1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.

  Download Speed
  35.29 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 37.05 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 35.29 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 25.93 Mbps-37.05 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 37.05 Mbps


2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.

  Upload Speed
  1.79 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 2 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 1.79Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 2 Mbps



We were unable to identify any performance problem with your service at this time.
It is possible that any problem you are currently, or had previously experienced may have been caused by traffic congestion on the Internet or by the server you were accessing responding slowly.
If you continue to encounter a problem with a specific server, please contact the administrator of that server in the first instance.

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: restarted router 3 time today

Well did you do the speed test after another reboot or just straight off.

What device is your "girl" using and was it a wireless connection?

campinggaz
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-03-2016

Re: restarted router 3 time today

we get the dreaded orange light an wont reconnect without restart.

etdsaunders
Pro
Posts: 235
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 7
Registered: 21-02-2016

Re: restarted router 3 time today

Maybe @MatthewWheeler can run some tests on your line to see if he can notice anything obvious?
Raspberry Pi enthusiast!
If you Like it, give it a Thumbs Up
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: restarted router 3 time today

Can you check your phone line for any audible noise, crackling etc. Use the Quiet Line Test 17070 option 2 if need be.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,782
Thanks: 364
Fixes: 136
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: restarted router 3 time today

Our tests aren't showing any issues but there have been a few drops recently.

Is the router connected to the first phone socket that comes into the property?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
campinggaz
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-03-2016

Re: restarted router 3 time today

i'm using the setup as it should be, the main and only socket, on a short cable, on ethernet on a pc, i've been doing this for years so know the best setup, and that is as standard here.

campinggaz
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-03-2016

Re: restarted router 3 time today

oh and no audible noise, crackling etc.

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: restarted router 3 time today

@MatthewWheeler are you able to look at the Delta reports/other data to see if sync is dropping or if it's just the PPP sessions.

campinggaz
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-03-2016

Re: restarted router 3 time today

not sure Smiley

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,782
Thanks: 364
Fixes: 136
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: restarted router 3 time today

@Anotherone On fibre the checks we can do are limited but at the moment it's only showing one loss of sync in the last 14 days.

@campinggaz I'd recommend raising this to our Faults team so they can have a look. You can do that by clicking here.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: restarted router 3 time today

@MatthewWheeler could you post the Vis.Rad?  @campinggaz could look and see how that compares with his reboots and disconnects as well as getting the fault raised.

campinggaz
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-03-2016

Re: restarted router 3 time today

just got in after tinkering with the van hour says no internet for an hour, its not going well, does anyone monitor this or what?