cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

low speed

espedzhev
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 27-06-2016

low speed

Hi,

whole week speed drops to 1mb in the evenings.

any reason for that?

I feel confused. I pay for 80mb but get 1-10mb

 

Please fix.

Regards,

15 REPLIES
hitchhiker43
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 167
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 4
Registered: 06-07-2016

Re: low speed

Hi and welcome Smiley if you can access your router stats can you post them here please so we can see whats happening on your line ? If not can you say what make/model your router is ?

Tp-link W8960n on longgggggggg line!
espedzhev
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 27-06-2016

Re: low speed

Hi,

thank you for your reply.

Could you specify which stats are you interested in?

 

I connected a month ago.

So I have the sagecom plusnet hub one which is the latest one I assume.

All settings are at their default values.

 

Kind Regards,

Evald

 

 

 

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: low speed

Hi there. You'll probably find this thread moved to the Fibre board at some point by a mod. (Don't get excited about that).

Using the Hub One if you go to http://192.168.1.254/ and click the <Troubleshooting> Tab, then <Helpdesk> it should prompt you to login - the password is on the plastic card and is case sensitive.

Copy and Paste the page into a post, BUT redact the serial number, broadband username, SSIDs and the MAC Address.

If you can also run the BTw Speedtest and go to the Further Diagnostics at the bottom of the first run page. Ignore the red pre-amble - DON'T REBOOT (except make sure nothing else is using the connection). The diagnostics is to get the IP Profile. Copy and paste the output to a post - no need to bother with the graphics.

Also check to see what it says for Current Line Speed don't post your phone number.

Also check Which Gateway you are on

espedzhev
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 27-06-2016

Re: low speed

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number:  
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.217.1.1 Last updated Unknown
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 23:16:28
6. Data rate: 20000 / 79995
7. Maximum data rate: 30698 / 89068
8. Noise margin: 12.6 / 8.4
9. Line attenuation: 10.2 / 12.6
10. Signal attenuation: 10.2 / 12.6
11. Data sent/received: 703.5 MB / 10.2 GB
12. Broadband username:  
13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID:  
14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s))
15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID:  
18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))
19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
21. Firewall: Default
22. MAC Address:  
23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B
24. Software variant: AA
25. Boot loader: 1.0.0
espedzhev
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 27-06-2016

Re: low speed

"Also check to see what it says for Current Line Speed don't post your phone number."

 

Phone exchange:CHESTER NORTH

Estimated line speed:80Mb (This may vary between 71.9Mb and 80Mb) - Checked on 2016-06-14 12:31:25

Current line speed:77.4 Mb

 

"Also check Which Gateway you are on"

You are currently connected to gateway ptw-bng02.

This is located in Telehouse West.

 

Current speed according to speed.test is 14mb. at 12:31:25 it was around 55mb (I was checking all day) 

espedzhev
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 27-06-2016

Re: low speed

If you can also run the BTw Speedtest

Download: 16.67

Upload Speed: 0.36

Ping: 28

 

Further Diagnostics:

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 16.67 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 40 Mbps-77.43 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 77.43 Mbps

 

And Tap3 test:

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 5.51 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 40 Mbps-77.43 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 77.43 Mbps

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: low speed

 

Those throughput speeds are truly bad and clearly indicative of a problem which looks like congestion - assuming you didn't do them over a wireless connection. The Tap3 test suggests this could be somewhere on the BT Backhaul routing rather than in the Plusnet Network. By dropping the PPP session - this disconnects your routing to Plusnet - but NOT your connection to the Cab, which is fine. On establishing a new session, the routing can be different and that may improve the situation. But read on.

As mentioned your connection to the Cab is fine, you are obviously close enough to it to be connected at full speed and the Profiles and Current Line Speed are correct.

If you carried out those speedtests using a wireless connection rather than ethernet connection, this could be a wireless issue. Please repeat the tests with an ethernet connection and the wireless turned off. If you are unable to use an ethernet connection, then repeat the test with you device close to the Hub One, say about a metre to minimise the risk of interference to the wireless connection being the cause. Make sure no other devices are using the connection.

If the tests were carried out using an ethernet connection, then goto the Hub One home page http://192.168.1.254/ click <Advanced Settings> and login. Click <Continue to Advanced Settings> then select <Broadband> and then <Internet>. (Make a note of your IP address and Gateway address) You should see a <Disconnect> button on the bottom RHS. Click that. Wait about 30 seconds or so, if need be refresh the page, then click Connect. You should notice you have a different IP address and probably Gateway and hopefully your routing will also be different that you aren't suffering the issue.

Repeat the Speedtests and see if the issue is currently resolved.

espedzhev
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 27-06-2016

Re: low speed

Thanks,

I will try that next time my broadband goes dead and reply.

Regards,

anthonybratley
Newbie
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Registered: 22-08-2016

Re: low speed

I had the same problem and tried this. Download speed increased from 20 to 73!

 

Thanks, muchly.

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: low speed

Welcome to the forum @anthonybratley. Glad you found the suggestion did the trick Thumbs Up

espedzhev
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 27-06-2016

Re: low speed

Hi,

Bad news,

I had 12mb I tried resetting connection three times with no positive result.

Currently 8mb.

 

Any suggestions? Should I cancel my contract?

Regards,

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 586
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: low speed

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: low speed

You need to log a fault as suggested by SpendLessTime. Make sure that you have run the BTw Diagnostic Test with a bad result as mentioned previously.

I assume your BT IP Profile is still OK. Out of curiosity which Gateway are you now on?

Edit: just cancelling your contract could get you into all sorts of hot water and financial penalties - unless perhaps you are still within a 14day cooling-off period IIRC BUT I would read all the Legal Stuff and Ts&Cs very carefully before contemplating such action and make it very clear to Plusnet your reasons - but again don't "cancel" as such if you go down that route - MIGRATE to another supplier otherwise you could lose not only the broadband but the phone line and number!

espedzhev
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: 27-06-2016

Re: low speed

I am paying for service I am not getting, isn't that stealing?

 

Edit: Not trying to be cocky, I know it's a rhetorical question.

But you could guess my frustration.

 

I will log the fault, thanks