cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

line issue

Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2017

line issue

h, so over the last week i have had loads of dropouts and my speed has went from 76mb down to 65mb

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number: +081441+NQ71601297
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.237.2.2 Last updated 08/09/17
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 00:23:42
6. Data rate: 20000 / 65040
7. Maximum data rate: 25531 / 75213

 

will this go back up over time or will plusnet need to reset anything ?

24 REPLIES 24
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2017

Re: line issue

also is there a new router they supply as this one is poor on wifi

Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,325
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎09-10-2018

Re: line issue

Hi @staceyd86 , thanks for your post.

 

With regards your connection, we've run testing on the line and although we can see a few drops and the speed being below estimates, we aren't detecting what's causing the issue and so some troubleshooting is in order so that we can try to rule out your home set up.


We'd recommend starting with basic checks here.

And if that doesn't help the next thing would be to rule your internal wiring out by plugging the connection into your test socket which is under the faceplate of your master socket and seeing if the stability returns. This rules out internal wiring, face plates and extension sockets as being the cause. How to locate the test socket and set your connection into it can be found here.


If the problem still persists from here, please raise a fault here, letting us know when you've done so so that we may progress the issue more quickly.

 

With regards the router, we're showing that you already have the most up-to-date model and so there isn't a lot we can do with respect to replacing it but you may well find the wireless optimisation guides here will improve your wireless connectivity.

 

Please let us all know how you get on.

Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 463
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: line issue

Could it not be due to the old firmware @OskarPapa 

I do recall another user on an old firmware recently that had improvements when the firmware was updated.

Obviously the other options apply too Wink

(just saying)

Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,325
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎09-10-2018

Re: line issue

Hi @DS, thanks for your input.

 

It's potentially an issue, definitely, but what with the issues we're aware of with some of the firmware updates I'm erring on the side of caution with my approach to this one and would definitely recommend that @staceyd86 has a go at the guides I've sent over before we go through the process of requesting that an update be pushed through.

 

10 points on the knowledge, though Cheesy

Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 463
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: line issue

I totally understand where you're coming from Thumbs_Up, more so as I am 'one of the chosen ones' currently 'enjoying' the latest firmware Lips_are_sealed

It's just, I'm sure I'm not the only one that has noticed, there does seem to be a slight increase in users reporting their old firmware is now 'acting up' since the new one was set free. Bit of a coincidence perhaps....

Possibly updating and doing the, what's becoming the norm, splitting the wifi might be a way forward. Unless of course you guys know something about the newest firmware that I for one am starting to see....

 

Wink

 

edit. 20 points to me for finding a potential bug!!

I'll start a new topic, in case it's not a coincidence....Shocked

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,774
Thanks: 2,549
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: line issue


@staceyd86 wrote:

also is there a new router they supply as this one is poor on wifi


If trying different bands doesn't work then try separating the Wifi channels, that can work wonders, see https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/2-4ghz-and-or-5ghz-best-practice/m-p/1351966#M840. By 'pointing the browser', what is meant is put 192.168.1.254 in the address field, not the search field of your browser (assuming that your browser has both). Try both bands and use the best.

If you want a router with better WiFi for little money then go onto Ebay and get a Smarthun 6. There are stacks for sale at real knock down prices. Make sure that you get a FTTC version, which has four yellow LAN sockets. Avoid the FTTP version which has a red WAN sticker fixed to one of the LAN sockets. Setting instructions are here  https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Using-the-BT-Smarthub-6-on-a-Plusnet-Account/m-p/1587673#M85...

Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2017

Re: line issue

done all them will see how it goes, a firmware push would be nice,

will speed go back up when line settles ? 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 15,171
Thanks: 460
Fixes: 126
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: line issue

Hi, can you check for us which firmware version your router currently has please? You can do that by logging into http://192.168.1.254, go to "troubleshooting" then "helpdesk". 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2017

Re: line issue

3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.237.2.2 Last updated 08/09/17
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2017

Re: line issue

i have a hh6 if that is any better but its just syncing same as the hub1 so is my sync speed locked due to all the dropouts ?

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,774
Thanks: 2,549
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: line issue

Probably. I would not expect the sync rate to recover through the change of router but the wireless performance should be better. You will find a comparison here. https://www.businessdirect.bt.com/content/uni2/documentation/c6nx/bt_smart_hub_test_report.pdf

The firmware also seems to be more stable. If  the drop outs have stopped then Plusnet need to check that the line is not banded. If that is clear then it’s a waiting game for the automatic DLM to do it’s stuff.

Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2017

Re: line issue

ok im going to put the hh6 on now then, can a admin do that check and see if my line is banded please

Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2017

Re: line issue

hh6 stats

 

0 Days, 0 Hours 3 Minutes 56 Seconds

20.00 Mbps / 65.20 Mbps

25975 / 79072

9.4 dB / 6.2 dB

11.5 dB

 

0/38

G_993_2_ANNEX_B

Fast Path

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,957
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 109
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: line issue

Hi @staceyd86,

 

Thank you for confirming the firmware version of your Plusnet router and that you're now using a Home Hub 6. Please let us know if you'd like us to arrange for the latest update to be pushed to your Hub 1, or you can carry on using the Home Hub 6 if you'd prefer.

 

I've tested your line and it's currently syncing at 65.2mbps, which is below the line's estimates of 67 - 80mbps:

 

GEA Test Detail
Circuit ID NA Service ID BBEUXXXXXXXXX
 
 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 65.2 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 234.0
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Low
Interference Pattern Regular Interference Observed Daily
Service Impact Retrains Observed
Interference Duration Longest Occurrence From 08:30 to 08:45
Interference Location Customer Premise
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2019-03-02T12:15:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 63.8 Mbps 77.9 Mbps 68.1 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 20.0 Mbps 20.0 Mbps 20.0 Mbps
Up Time 732.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 899.0 Sec
Retrains 0.0 2.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2019-03-15T11:31:05.585+00:00 2019-03-15T11:46:05.585+00:00
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

 

The line isn't currently banded so, all being well, DLM should kick in now that the line has stabilised and you should see your speeds increase over the next 48 - 72 hours. Please let us know if your speed is still low after this.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team