cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

interleaving is high

Grafter
Posts: 71
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

interleaving is high

Can anyone give some info about the stats I’ve posted (see below).

 

I can see that interleaving is high, I have turn things off moved them away from the router but this has not changed anything. I am aware that the cheaper power units can give issues and have done what I can to eliminate them but have never had any joy.

If there is an external issue that OR/BT has an obligation to find it?

 

The router is connected directly into the master socket and using the test socket has no effect.

5 REPLIES 5
Rising Star
Posts: 60
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-09-2019

Re: interleaving is high

@Dodger21 I'm not an expert but do you know the approx line length distance from your fttc cabinet?

The down attenuation seems high at 23 dB , which to my limited knowledge i'm sure that's either a long line or a faulty connection on the line.

Out of interest what actual rate did you used to get before interleaving started?

 

My connection got interleaved once when I switched the power off for a week while I went on Holiday.

This my not apply to you but thought I would mention it.

It took many weeks to go back fast path, which was most annoying.

 

Anyway hopefully a member of staff on here will do a line check etc for you.

 

Ubuntu-MATE 18.04.3 LTS (Bionic Beaver) 64-bit
Rising Star
Posts: 60
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-09-2019

Re: interleaving is high

@Dodger21 

P.S. I guess you using a known good filter with your modem in the test socket?

Ubuntu-MATE 18.04.3 LTS (Bionic Beaver) 64-bit
Grafter
Posts: 71
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Re: interleaving is high

Hi

 

Thanks for the replies,

 

Distance from the Cab is 750M

 

The interleaving has always been there, at one point if I remember correctly BT did start using a fix for a while at that point I was getting 35Mb but they did not have a licence and had to remove it.

 

The face plate has its own filter (NT5 or something like that)

 

Rising Star
Posts: 60
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-09-2019

Re: interleaving is high


@Dodger21 wrote:

Distance from the Cab is 750M

 


 

750M is quite a distance. As a guide take a look at the chart on this page:

https://www.increasebroadbandspeed.https://www.increasebroadbandspeed.co.uk/2013/chart-bt-fttc-vdsl2... 

 


@Dodger21 wrote:

The interleaving has always been there, at one point if I remember correctly BT did start using a fix for a while at that point I was getting 35Mb but they did not have a licence and had to remove it.

 

 

Maybe they tried G.INP or Vectoring to help that.

 


@Dodger21 wrote:

The face plate has its own filter (NT5 or something like that)

 


 

I see. On mine the test socket is behind the faceplate and the filter is in the faceplate. So in my case I have to remove the two screws to remove the faceplate and then put an old fashioned in-line filter in the test socket first and then plug the modem into the filter.

 

Anyway, hopefully a member of staff will do a line check for you and see what they find. Best of luck.

Ubuntu-MATE 18.04.3 LTS (Bionic Beaver) 64-bit
Grafter
Posts: 71
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Re: interleaving is high

Hi

Thanks again for your replies, I will probably just have to put up with the current situation as It would require a visit from a high level OR/BT engineer to trace the fault and I can’t see Plusnet going down that route.

Still all is not lost as I live in one of the rural areas that OR are going to start putting  in FTTP now if only Plusnet would start excepting FTTP connections again.

 

https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2020/01/openreach-add-227-rural-uk-areas-to-fttp-broadband-rol...