cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fibre unlimited - only 50% speed

basvw
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-11-2015

fibre unlimited - only 50% speed

Hello Plusnet

I signed up for Fibre Unlimited, however my line only gives me around 35-40Mbit download and 10Mbit upload speed. I have been waiting for a few weeks now to see if this gets adjusted automatically but unfortunately that's not the case.

Various different speed tests show the the speed at less than 40 Mbit. In the router menu the downstream is noted as 40.23 Mbps.

BT speedtest attached. Upstream showing as 3 Mbps of 20 Mbps possible..

Can someone from Plusnet please look into my line, as I am paying for a faster line?

Thanks

12 REPLIES
basvw
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-11-2015

Re: fibre unlimited - only 50% speed

Anyone from Plusnet please?

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,367
Thanks: 987
Fixes: 116
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: fibre unlimited - only 50% speed

That speed is correct for your product - it's Unlimited Fibre Extra that is up to 80mbps Smiley
Will Moderate For Thanks
basvw
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-11-2015

Re: fibre unlimited Extra - only 50% speed

Hi dvorak. Sorry, but this speed is definitely not correct for my product. My title was is not correct, product is fiber unlimited extra.
As you can see from the speedtest I don't even reach 40mbps down, and not more than 5mbps up (when I'm lucky). I should be reaching a lot more, the estimated minimum was 49mb and max 64mb, which is far from what I'm reaching. If this can't be helped I might as well "downgrade" to normal fibre unlimited with a max of 38mb..and pay less.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,367
Thanks: 987
Fixes: 116
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: fibre unlimited Extra - only 50% speed

what did the email from PN give you for your speed estimate?
Will Moderate For Thanks
basvw
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-11-2015

Re: fibre unlimited Extra - only 50% speed

49mb to 64.4mb
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,367
Thanks: 987
Fixes: 116
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: fibre unlimited Extra - only 50% speed

as you're outside the estimates you could raise a fault.

it might be worth just double checking your estimate here first though https://www.btwholesale.com/includes/adsl/adsl.htm?s_cid=ws_furls_adslchecker
Will Moderate For Thanks
basvw
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-11-2015

Re: fibre unlimited Extra - only 50% speed

Thanks how do I raise a fault?

The btwholesale site says I'm on market B exchange, then I assume I look at vdsl B, which says max 54.8 and min 32.4.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: fibre unlimited - only 50% speed

Hello @basvw I'm sorry to hear you're having speed issues.

 

There appears to be two accounts linked to your forum details, please can you private message me with the username you're referring to?

 

Thanks.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
basvw
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-11-2015

Re: fibre unlimited - only 50% speed

@Anoush send you a pm
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: fibre unlimited - only 50% speed

Thank you for your PM @basvw

 

I've tested your broadband, your router is in sync at a low speed,

 

xDSL Status Summary

     

Circuit Sync Status

: In Sync

Downstream Line Rate

: 41.2

Upstream Line Rate

: 10.7

 

The line test is failing when running the broadband test,

GEA Details

     

Bridge Tap

: Not Detected

Radio Frequency Ingress

: Not Detected

Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

: Not Detected

Copper Line Test Result

: Voice fault suspected - contact Voice CP to progress copper issue

NTE Power Status

: PowerOn

Crosstalk

: Not Detected

 

I've however tested your line and I'm not identifying a fault.

 

I'd advise to try connecting your router into your test socket (if you haven't already, and if you have one). As explained here: https://community.plus.net/t5/Library/Testing-From-The-Master-Socket/ba-p/1322242

 

If your speed isn't on target still, then you can raise a fault to us at http://faults.plus.net

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
basvw
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-11-2015

Re: fibre unlimited - only 50% speed

thanks for the help. connected to the other socket I have here, which appears to be the master, because it shows 58mb downstream in this.  Although it's in an impossible location to use... so need to figure out how to move the master..

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: fibre unlimited - only 50% speed

That's a pretty nice jump in speed. Is this your test socket or just through the faceplate of the master?

We'll be able to arrange for your master socket to be moved by Openreach, though the callout fee is pricey at £160.

You could also possibly look for a qualified electrician or ex-BT engineer elsewhere.
I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support