cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fibre pipe in street already

davidfriedlande
Grafter
Posts: 80
Registered: 19-02-2014

fibre pipe in street already

My neighbour once paid for a fibre link to his house which was installed be an openreach engineer.  He has now moved and the fibre pipe is obviously still there. An openreach engineer was at another neighbours house today and has had the cover up in the street. I went over to chat to him about our slow broadband and he showed me the fibre pipe and said it would be relativltly easy for someone to utilise it.  How could this be done and anyone know how i could get the ball rolling?
6 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 813
Fixes: 173
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: fibre pipe in street already

Checking your line it does show that fibre is available, however the estimates aren't that much more than what you get at the moment Undecided
The current estimates on your ADSL connection are 5.5Mbps to 7.5Mbps
FTTC estimates for your line show are Download: 9.5Mbps to 5.1Mbps Upload 1.2Mbps to 0.8Mbps
If you did want to discuss upgrading to fibre, I'd recommend giving our Customer Options Team a call on 0800 013 2632.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,637
Thanks: 868
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: fibre pipe in street already

Is FTTP or FTTPoD available?
That sounds like what the neighbour had.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 813
Fixes: 173
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: fibre pipe in street already

That's what I thought too, but http://dslchecker.bt.com isn't showing any availability for FTTP/FTTPoD.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
Andrue
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 775
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-01-2015

Re: fibre pipe in street already

Not all fibre is the same, sadly. It may be that the fibre the poster has is not compatible with the equipment BT has. At one of my previous jobs I was responsible for getting fibre to our site and an office doing it with us had existing fibre. Unfortunately it had been put in to supply an ISDN service and BT said it was now useless.
Even if the fibre is compatible there is an issue of contention that could - ahem - cause contention. I'm assuming that the original owner paid for a leased line. That means a dedicated link back to the exchange and probably straight onto the backhaul. Openreach might be reluctant to activate that because it gives the poster an unfair advantage over his neighbours. Possibly even over the entire area served by that exchange. Imagine the scenario:Everyone else has to muck in and share the cabinets and exchange but there's the OP with his own pipe right onto the exchange backhaul. That's fine if the OP is paying for a leased line but if they just want a typical home connection that's a big no-no.
This could be mitigated somewhat by moving the cable end point to the aggregation point for cabinets on that exchange but that still leaves the OP connecting through what is effectively their own personal cabinet.
Then there's the uncertainty over whether openreach actually could make the changes needed. As a company they have the technical expertise for sure but not all their engineers have all the expertise. This means that for residential connections BT prefer a 'cookie cutter' approach. Dealing with some weird cabling arrangement is just hassle for openreach that they either don't want to deal with or else will want to charge a lot more money for.
davidfriedlande
Grafter
Posts: 80
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: fibre pipe in street already

Yes, i think my neighbour told me that it was a leased line, just seems a shame that it is all there and we cant use it and are stuck on 7mb adsl
Andrue
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 775
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-01-2015

Re: fibre pipe in street already

Definitely a shame. And I'm not saying it's impossible but finding someone willing to get it done and for a reasonable price will be the difficult bit Sad  I doubt Openreach will talk to you so you'll need to go through a CP and it'll have to be one that specialises in leased lines and they will want paying  Cry
Even if FTTP/oD becomes available to you they might not be able to use the fibre. BT's FTTP/oD offering is PON (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Passive_optical_network)- which means that we don't all get our own cable. We still share a node much as FTTC shares a cabinet at the moment. So your existing cable would have to be cut and spliced into the splitter, assuming it's physically compatible.
mav:quote