cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

Stylin
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 04-02-2013

check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

Is there a way to find out if people are or have been using my wifi?
if there is people using my wifi how would i block them from using it?
thank you
11 REPLIES
Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 501
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-04-2013

Re: check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

Change the password
Let's be careful out there !
johnwillimas
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 17-07-2015

Re: check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

Great little app called Net Analyzer - if you have an iPhone - shows what is attached to your network. The "lite" version is free and does the job. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/network-analyzer-lite-wifi/id562315041?mt=8 But yes, to solve the problem just put a decent password on it.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,237
Thanks: 1,321
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

Also, if your router / Wireless Access Point supports it you can also enable MAC address filtering. Where you enter the unique MAC address of your devices network card(s) restricting access to those devices in the list. With this in place even if the user knows the password they still won't get access to the WiFi.
Stylin
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

Okay thanks for the reply guys.
i just downloaded a program called " who is on my wifi" it shows all the connections on your wifi and notifies you when a new connection connects.
get the option to block if you want.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,237
Thanks: 1,321
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

You should not need to bother with blocking leeches on an ad-hoc basis. If you haven't done so then please change your password as recommended, and to add another layer of security consider the MAC filtering option. In addition to these you might also want to hide your WiFi's SSID so it not visible to the casual user, but this does mean that if you want to add a new device you have to do it manually.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,567
Thanks: 174
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

Just a thought, your not using homeplugs are you  Huh
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 467
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

Just downloaded "who is on my wifi" as a matter of interest.  Seems a neat little program apart from some slight inconveniences in the GUI.
Just wondering how it implements the 'block'?  This machine it is installed on doesn't have any particular status on the network.  If someone can get onto my network at all, they could presumably use a copy to block the genuine devices?
hapless
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 26-05-2013

Re: check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

Personally I use Fing on android, great little prog to show what is on the network and see what ports are open.
Free, no ads and also available on the isheep free too.
deejayburnout
Grafter
Posts: 150
Registered: 05-04-2014

Re: check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

Just tried that Fing app and its actually quite good. Thanks
Dpinnock18
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 22-05-2018

Re: check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

Hi John I downloaded this app that you said works however I can’t see the people connected to my plusnet, can you help please? Thanks john
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,178
Thanks: 746
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: check to see if other people are using my WIFI?

John was last here in June 2016 so you're unlikely to get a response methinks!
May be better starting a new thread detailing what you have and what you want to achieve.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy