cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

changed package type to fibre - what next?

angusbeare
Grafter
Posts: 34
Thanks: 13
Registered: 06-01-2011

changed package type to fibre - what next?

Have just upgraded online from BB to fibre.
I can see my house has fibre coming in from some time ago but I have no idea what condition the cables are in etc.
Can anyone explain how it works?  Will Plusnet contact me and arrange to send out an engineer?
Can I keep existing broadband until switchover?
thanks
Gus
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: changed package type to fibre - what next?

I see some confusion
If your house has fibre already it is probably Virgin cable and you have ordered FTTC which comes down the existing copper wires
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,023
Thanks: 1,457
Fixes: 156
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: changed package type to fibre - what next?

it's also likely to be a self install so you will get a router through the post but are unlikely to get an engineer visit - they will just do the work at the cabinet to switch you over.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

angusbeare
Grafter
Posts: 34
Thanks: 13
Registered: 06-01-2011

Re: changed package type to fibre - what next?

Thanks guys for responding.
Just had a look. There is a box with "NTL" written on it and a lead going to the usual phone socket.
Others in the street have Virgin but they stated £10 a month for a static IP.  I want my static IP and I don't want their (Virgin) TV bundles so decided to stick with PlusNet.
Ok, I assume they can check that everything is operational without a site visit then?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: changed package type to fibre - what next?

NTL is what is now Virgin
Rippong
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 23-12-2013

Re: changed package type to fibre - what next?

It's also not fibre, it's coax.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: changed package type to fibre - what next?

it's fibre to the cabinet, just like BT.
the only coax bit is from the cabinet to the house, whereas BT is copper from the cabinet to the house.