cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WoW Classic - unplayable lag

Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎27-05-2016

WoW Classic - unplayable lag

Account:  [Removed] had to change name when I moved and couldnt see a place to update my actual account in the forum settings, didnt see the point creating a new forum account.

About a week ago or so I started getting bad lag in game when the action gets going, figured it might be the storms or whatever causing havoc. Anything from a couple seconds to 5-10 seconds behind, it's like playing in the 90s with all the rubber banding and pinging around.

Not talking about Blizzards crappy servers either, played 100s of battles fine and now suddenly it's totally unplayable and others aren't getting the same issue. Done all the usual things game wise, no addons, reinstalled etc.

In game ping is fine - around 28ms and doesn't change so I don't really know what's going on.

Tried doing a factory reset on router, going from wireless to TPLinks network over power, even borrowing newer fast TPLinks and same issue. Got a nice router the Asus RT-N66U which I've used with PN for a few years now, there's no major traffic being reported and it happens all day and night, even with nothing else connected.

This is their test tool pinging my router:

 

PING:
PING 51.7.xx.xx (51.7.xx.x) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 51.7.xx.xx: icmp_seq=1 ttl=52 time=24.0 ms
64 bytes from 51.7.xx.xx: icmp_seq=2 ttl=52 time=23.5 ms
64 bytes from 51.7.xx.xx: icmp_seq=3 ttl=52 time=23.9 ms
64 bytes from 51.7.xx.xx: icmp_seq=4 ttl=52 time=23.9 ms

--- 51.7.xx.xx ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3003ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 23.581/23.882/24.003/0.205 ms


06/03/2020 20:12:59 UTC

 

 Literally been better off playing with a higher ping but working connection via tethering

 

Moderators Note: Personal information removed

5 REPLIES 5
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎27-05-2016

Re: WoW Classic - unplayable lag

WinMTR statistics

Host % Sent Recv Best Avrg Wrst Last
router.asus.com 0 562 562 2 3 33 3
No response from host 100 112 0 0 0 0 0
141.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk 99 114 2 0 20 21 21
140.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk 0 562 562 18 19 37 18
195.99.125.138 0 562 562 17 19 40 19
peer1-et-0-0-2.interxion.ukcore.bt.net 0 562 562 18 20 46 19
No response from host 100 112 0 0 0 0 0
ae1-br01-eqld5.as57976.net 1 555 553 25 30 86 50
et-0-0-2-br02-eqam1.as57976.net 1 551 548 24 29 135 55
137.221.78.85 1 551 548 24 28 91 38
185.60.112.158 1 551 548 24 26 54 46
All Star
Posts: 731
Thanks: 226
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: WoW Classic - unplayable lag

Hi wartywarlock3,

I cannot see mcuh wrong with that winMTR,

The only packet loss is 1% and that occurs in as57976.net, which is part of blizzards network.

Note, the 1% packet loss persists on subsequent hops.

With reference to your post in a different unrealted issue:

https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/Buffering-with-full-speed-YouTube-Plex-BBC/m-p/1713942...

The winMTr shows is that 140.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk is not configured to respond to pings.

Note there is no packet loss on the subsequent hops.

If it had 100% packet loss then the ping requets would not propogate to the next server in the path to blizzards server.

Richard

 

 

Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎27-05-2016

Re: WoW Classic - unplayable lag

Sure, appreciate the reply.

Not a networking guy just repeating what the guy on the phone said. Here's a picture of a longer run, it seems weird it would reply to 4 out of 946 requests though if it's not meant to at all no? The column is literally called % Loss so that's why I say it says 100% loss.

I wouldn't really say the other post was unrelated, everyone there has the same basic issue, good speeds, low ping, normal useage but 1 service in particular has been dire for the same amount of time with some form of lag/loss/throughput issue making it unusable.

Feel like if it was a blizzard issue there should be a lot more than just me having the problems.

Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎27-05-2016

Re: WoW Classic - unplayable lag

This continues to persist and am now beginning to consider changing ISP. Neither this nor my ticket have been responded to in any official capacity and is not what I have come to expect from PN over the last decade. This is NOT a problem on the blizzard side of things, and is most certainly NOT an issue on MY side of things.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,990
Thanks: 5,730
Fixes: 963
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: WoW Classic - unplayable lag

Thanks for your post @wartywarlock3 I'm sorry to see you've had issues with playing World of Warcraft and apologies for the delayed staff response. WoW is something I've got a keen interest in although I don't play often nowadays.

Looking at the notes on your account, it looks like the issue seemed to have resolved itself last night?

Could you let me know if you continue to have problems so we can investigate further?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team