cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless Issue

Darranna
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 05-01-2015

Wireless Issue

Hi all,
I recently moved my Sky Fibre optic to Plusnet and to be honest I'm already regretting it.  Sad
Although the Broadband speed is faster (see below)

The wireless connection are ridiculously slow, there are only two of us in the household and yes we have the normal things associated with modern living, phones, tablets, Laptops and desktop PC and a smart TV not all connected at once of course but its like watching paint dry waiting for a web page to load.
As for streaming movies forget it.
Can anyone make any recommendations?
It there a way to measure the speed of the wireless connection?
I have already tried chanel the chanel number from the default but that made no difference.
TIA
Darranna
28 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 899
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Wireless Issue

1. Connect everything possible using wired rather than wireless.
2. Consider using homeplugs to connect devices in a static position but impractical to connect using Ethernet cable.
3. Buy your own router which is known to give better wireless performance.
It may be that the slowest device is dragging the others down to the same speed - e.g. if one or more of your devices is only B or G capable.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Darranna
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 05-01-2015

Re: Wireless Issue

Unfortunately connecting items via ethernet is not really practical and to be honest I never had this issue with Sky.
I forgot to mention I do have two wireless extenders in the home already and although they show a full signal they are not helping at all.
Is the router the problem here? I assume PlusNet only operates on a single band so a Dual Band router won't help?
dick:quote
Razorback
Grafter
Posts: 208
Registered: 08-08-2014

Re: Wireless Issue

I use a dual band wireless router (homehub 4) and everything is connected wirelessly. I get very good speeds and streaming works with absolutely no issues.
Darranna
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 05-01-2015

Re: Wireless Issue

Which router do you use Netgear?
dick:quote
Marksfish
Grafter
Posts: 321
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: Wireless Issue

I too came from Sky recently. I found the wireless speeds more reliable on the PN supplied router than on the (white) Sky one. Try Inssider to see how many other wireless networks nearby are using the same channel as you.
Mark
Razorback
Grafter
Posts: 208
Registered: 08-08-2014

Re: Wireless Issue

An ex BT homehub
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 467
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Wireless Issue

I assume PlusNet only operates on a single band so a Dual Band router won't help?
The PlusNet router is single band, but other than that it has nothing to do with your PlusNet.
Any dual band fibre router will work fine; probably better than the PlusNet one or your old Sky one.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,285
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Wireless Issue

Do you have your old router?
If so, use your old router as an access point instead by turning off dhcp and giving it an ip of 192.168.1.2, plug it into your new router then turn off the wifi on your new router. Or do as some do and buy an older N type router with known good wifi for pennys, preferable an old cable router like a DIR-615 etc
Darranna
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 05-01-2015

Re: Wireless Issue

The problem is I'm not that techy Embarrassed I'm more of your buy this model router plug it in and off you go  Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 899
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Wireless Issue

Homeplugs are very easy to install (pretty much plug them in and they work). You could probably connect your range extenders to the router using them which would drastically improve performance - do they have a Ethernet port and the ability to be configured as wireless access points?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Darranna
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 05-01-2015

Re: Wireless Issue

I have absolutely no idea  Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 899
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Wireless Issue

What model are your range extenders?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Darranna
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: 05-01-2015

Re: Wireless Issue

Ones a Belkin F9K1106v1 and the other is a Netgear WN2000RPTv2
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,285
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013