Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which VPN - suitable for Hub1 & CCTV?

SCGH
Dabbler

Which VPN - suitable for Hub1 & CCTV?

Hi.

I have a Hub1 router.  

I also have Hikvision CCTV installed, static IP address and a DMZ assigned to open all of the ports.

Apparently it should not have been set up this way, and I should have a VPN instead.  I have never used a VPN before.

Can anyone recommend a VPN that will work for my setup?  I was thinking of NordVPN, but not sure if that will work with the Hub1 (or with Hikvision).

Please help...  

13 REPLIES 13
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Fixes: 76

Re: Which VPN - suitable for Hub1 & CCTV?

Not sure how a VPN is going to help, and its not mentioned in these instructions?

SCGH
Dabbler

Sorry - I should clarify that it all works ok.
But from a security perspective apparently I should use a VPN.
I'm really worried now that my system is "wide open".
SpendLessTime
Hero
Fixes: 86

@SCGH

The NordVPN software does not run on the router (any router) as it is computer/tablet/phone software. So it is not a VPN for security cams unless the cams are Android based and let you install software on them.

If you really want to use a VPN that is router based so that all your traffic goes across the VPN then you would need to look at other VPN providers and buy a router that they support. No idea who though.

Ex - Plusnet Customer (2009 - 2023) now with BT
Anonymous
Not applicable

Android already has support for VPN built in using PPTP or L2TP so if the Hub 1 supports the creation of a VPN then this is all you need. I suspect someone here could tell you how to configure a VPN on your hardware.

SCGH
Dabbler

Hmmmm.  I have no idea if the cameras are Android based!  They are hikvision cameras - quite common ones.

Anonymous
Not applicable