cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are my current line stats / speed

daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

What are my current line stats / speed

Hi, I had fibre installed last Thursday. I have the BT openreach modem and a TP link W8960N router.
1) I’m hoping my line should be very stable I know I rebooted the modem on Thursday 8th around 6PM and again this morning 12th around 8AM – are these the only drops?
2) What is my current speed ? I was told by PlusNet I’d get the full 80 / 20 and the openreach engineer also said I should see the full speed so im very confident that my speeds should be at the top end of the scale however each time I run speed tests either hard wired or wireless I get big differences in results.
I'm on the 80mb package.
Thank you
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

check here for what your plusnet profile is set to https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
why have you rebooted the modem twice? you shouldn't be touching that at all really.
SharonBrown
Grafter
Posts: 73
Registered: 06-08-2014

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

Hi daskinner!
I've checked your connection and yes there have been some drops but nothing that would be cause for concern, we'd also expect it to be a little 'flaky' after first being activated and then settle in during the ten day training period.  Any time you're running speed tests, they should always be done using a wired connection, there are too many variables that can affect your wireless speed.
Having checked the connection and the test results from the diagnostics you have run, I see nothing of concern but if there is anything you want me to look into, feel free to come back to me.
Kind regards
Sharon
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

Quote from: chenks76
check here for what your plusnet profile is set to https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
why have you rebooted the modem twice? you shouldn't be touching that at all really.

Thanks, I'd still like PN to send me my stats.
The 1st reboot was done as my line profile was set wrong and I was told to do a reboot for the new one to kick in. The second this morning was an error on my side. I flicked the wrong plug socket off.
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

Quote from: SAB
Hi daskinner!
I've checked your connection and yes there have been some drops but nothing that would be cause for concern, we'd also expect it to be a little 'flaky' after first being activated and then settle in during the ten day training period.  Any time you're running speed tests, they should always be done using a wired connection, there are too many variables that can affect your wireless speed.
Having checked the connection and the test results from the diagnostics you have run, I see nothing of concern but if there is anything you want me to look into, feel free to come back to me.
Kind regards
Sharon

Thanks Sharon, if its ok with you id like you to run the tests again once my 10 days ae up just to make sure.. Would that be ok?
MoneyMan
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 02-01-2015

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

Hello, I thought I had read a recent post by one of the moderators (in another thread) that fibre doesn't have a 10 day training period, only ADSL?
Could Plusnet please confirm?
Thanks
SharonBrown
Grafter
Posts: 73
Registered: 06-08-2014

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

Hi again!
Yes of course that is fine.  As I said, there's nothing on there that's out of the ordinary but if you're still concerned after the training period has passed, by all means give us a shout.  To my understanding, anything over three drops in a 24 hour period is considered a cause for concern and we *should* want to look into that further if you are reporting any degradation of service.  Anything less than that however, is not classed as faulty so the best thing we can do is just see how it goes Smiley
Hope that puts your mind at rest and again, feel free to come back to us if you're worried.
Warm regards
Sharon
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

Moneyman you are correct there is no 10 day training period on Fibre not sure why it's being mentioned here and why Daskinner is being told to wait until it's over
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

OK so my 10 days are up.
How's my line, stats and speed?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

I've copied the results we get from a line test below:
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 80.0 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Interleaving Off - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Interleaving Off
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

Thanks Chris. All good then.
When I check the PN site it says my current line speed is 77.4
It doesn't show upload.
On the tests I've ran the best download I've had is 74 with an upload of 17.
matty2k13
Grafter
Posts: 173
Thanks: 2
Registered: 03-06-2013

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

nothink wrong with them speeds mate
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

I know. I'm a happy customer.
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

Can you please look at my line stats and speed again please as i think there has been a few drops.
I've attached screenshots of my speeds ran this morning. wired connection nothing else online.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: What are my current line stats / speed

<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14224543354749.png"/><div style="clear:both;"></div>
I'll have your speeds for you shortly.
 Tony
 Plusnet Support