cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Websites struggling to connect - Is there a fix?

robbieglover2k
Aspiring Pro

Websites struggling to connect - Is there a fix?

I understand there may be a lot to catch up on at Plusnet at the moment so if you can just get back to me when you get time. 

It's just I've noticed lately that websites are being very slow to connect and timing out, I just leave it on the browser as it continues to try connect where I'll get a "This site can't be reached" page and then it'll eventually refresh and connect to the site.

It's not a specific device either as it's happening on my PC, brothers laptop and Playstation which are connected in various ways (ethernet and wi-fi) so it's not a Wi-Fi or Ethernet issue as such.

If someone can help fix this I'd appreciate it as this is important, specially when making online payments which doesn't need explaining as to why.

I'm not that technical and aren't comfortable messing about with DNS settings as the message says.

Thanks Smiley 

This is the page that's coming up when trying to reach websites (please know this isn't just in Opera or Littlewoods site either).

This site can’t be reached

www.littlewoods.com’s server IP address could not be found.

Try:

DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_BAD_CONFIG

Check your DNS settings.

Contact your network administrator if you're not sure what this means.

Allow Opera to access the network in your firewall or antivirus settings.

If it is already listed as a program allowed to access the network, try removing it from the list and adding it again.

If you use a proxy server…

Check your proxy settings or contact your network administrator to make sure the proxy server is working. If you don't believe you should be using a proxy server: Go to the Main menu > Settings > Change proxy settings… > LAN Settings and deselect "Use a proxy server for your LAN".

67 REPLIES 67
dws1900
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 2