cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

hutchingsp
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 28-04-2018

Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

I have an issue with a website I use. 

  • It doesn't load when I'm using Plusnet Fibre
  • It does load when using any other internet connection
  • It does load when using a VPN service over Plusnet.
  • The device doesn't matter, when using Plusnet it won't load, when using any other connection it does load.
  • I've tried disconnecting and reconnecting a few times to "force" a new public IP to no effect.
  • It isn't DNS which resolves.

The site is https://www3.iii.co.uk

Does it work for anyone else on Plusnet please?

33 REPLIES
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,178
Thanks: 746
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

Times out for me using Cloudflare DNS on a static IP address.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,094
Thanks: 454
Fixes: 17
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

It looks like a DNS issue to me. www3.iii.co.uk resolve to a CNAME of tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk which does not resolve.

Is the 3 in the URL essential? Is it a different website to www.iii.co.uk?

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,362
Thanks: 1,695
Fixes: 194
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

On mobile it redirects to www.iii.co.uk

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

hutchingsp
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 28-04-2018

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?


@ejs wrote:

It looks like a DNS issue to me. www3.iii.co.uk resolve to a CNAME of tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk which does not resolve.

Is the 3 in the URL essential? Is it a different website to www.iii.co.uk?


It resolves the A down to the CNAME using Cloudflare or Google DNS so not sure if Plusnet DNS struggles with it but I'm not using that Smiley

If you visit https://www3.iii.co.uk directly it does just redirect you to that site, but as a customer once you're logged into your account, when you try do do certain things the page source is calling https://www3.iii.co.uk/customstuff that's only present when you're logged in and authenticated.

The basic test which I think the posts above show is that something weird seems to be going on if you try that URL when using Plusnet that doesn't happen on other connections.

What happens now, just wait for someone from Plusnet to show up?

Thanks all so far Smiley

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,317
Thanks: 2,081
Fixes: 367
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

Hi there.

I've raised this with the appropriate team to do a dial test to try to replicate the problem.

Hope this helps.

Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
hutchingsp
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 28-04-2018

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

Anoush thank you, but I'm not sure a "dial test' is going to show much when you've got other customers on this thread saying they can't reach the site either?

 

"Dial test' suggests a line issue, apologies if I'm misunderstanding what it is based on the name.

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat): Full quote of preceding post removed as per Forum rules.

hutchingsp
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 28-04-2018

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

Anyone?

hutchingsp
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 28-04-2018

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

Ticket update below, I think the point is being missed, it is the right URL, the issue is that it times out when using Plusnet Fibre.

"Thank you for your patience

I have tried the www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk which works but the https://www3.iii.co.uk times out and does not load. please provide the right URL(s) for us to test."

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,178
Thanks: 746
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

It's almost certainly a problem at the other end as using a VPN gives this rather strange result

 

180501 ww3 iii.pngEh?

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
hutchingsp
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 28-04-2018

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

That says www.www3.iii.co.uk - you won't get there as it doesn't exist Smiley

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,178
Thanks: 746
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

That's what www3.iiii.co.uk tried to redirect to within my VPN Funny
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,236
Thanks: 974
Fixes: 83
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?


@hutchingsp wrote:
  • It isn't DNS which resolves.


Are you sure about that?

www3.iii.co.uk has a single CNAME record that aliases to tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk.

Using Google or Plusnet's DNS, it resolves to the CNAME (this is Plusnet):

~ $ dig +trace www3.iii.co.uk @212.159.6.10

; <<>> DiG 9.9.5-9+deb8u13-Raspbian <<>> +trace www3.iii.co.uk @212.159.6.10
;; global options: +cmd
. 66729 IN NS a.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS b.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS c.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS d.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS e.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS f.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS g.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS h.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS i.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS j.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS k.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS l.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN NS m.root-servers.net.
. 66729 IN RRSIG NS 8 0 518400 20180516150000 20180503140000 39570 . vknO0WmLXEn6+OvUQdgy52s4mOx9oF5Uk8cQNuDKdwGS2rSYYF9x6uyc pPSLPZd4EeG/+/b3BkGnIoku7hYjZFsrAfoXku9d1JJiXECyHehjawm0 BzAe4atn5uW7LMvMKB5FZLmhNPWEWH527cRjKUmpRxWLFRjqc6dI9XnD o3vJm2kG+xaT+JFKKugSFy31XfUR9kum+rhEXUkC6P/lEbYWbqzbJYyd hEGo+/+vKlu9UX0UASlamNKNScHOjfdvkaJCrY70tCz3Smw4dBa5PT2d kkqnncF++AAP0WuHtQ4jF9JzF4QgQQFmO8GMqDITJceQMW5+yiNCv+FX vu3nIw==
;; Received 525 bytes from 212.159.6.10#53(212.159.6.10) in 35 ms

uk. 172800 IN NS dns2.nic.uk.
uk. 172800 IN NS dns3.nic.uk.
uk. 172800 IN NS nsa.nic.uk.
uk. 172800 IN NS dns4.nic.uk.
uk. 172800 IN NS nsb.nic.uk.
uk. 172800 IN NS nsd.nic.uk.
uk. 172800 IN NS dns1.nic.uk.
uk. 172800 IN NS nsc.nic.uk.
uk. 86400 IN DS 43876 8 2 A107ED2AC1BD14D924173BC7E827A1153582072394F9272BA37E2353 BC659603
uk. 86400 IN RRSIG DS 8 1 86400 20180516150000 20180503140000 39570 . oIxmK2e5BTr7hA91nOQFx1svMJdopIqK4FF706ByiRMtpXy8oSZKzOtA IhFRQunbAZS7CRMTsrFsFvprHx9DoxFLBfGgj1A5T/v/CbcmEtsmVm1J xcloanejndOsUBRuI7axUYsV8ZnK03r3plDtACEuADiDV5T36JY6NHX0 x3deyVJp0dTZGM9hJBhwX+PnTylRlxIfS+5EgaCMrdf9KJKi5T4Lrdxq 5AabcKKbzRgNi/+tFLhTN2ee5WDDglM7v3LgXQWFooRtmI33HSAaZQSv ca93+JpCtg+L2kzt9RGfLFOYVtd1FKXXeFiOrRZe/fqN26scnXJnFE9b yUR+Mw==
;; Received 798 bytes from 199.7.91.13#53(d.root-servers.net) in 28 ms

iii.co.uk. 172800 IN NS ns6.dnsmadeeasy.com.
iii.co.uk. 172800 IN NS fm1-ns2.iii.co.uk.
iii.co.uk. 172800 IN NS ns5.dnsmadeeasy.com.
iii.co.uk. 172800 IN NS fm1-ns1.iii.co.uk.
iii.co.uk. 172800 IN NS ns7.dnsmadeeasy.com.
G9F1KIIHM8M9VHJK7LRVETBQCEOGJIQP.co.uk. 10800 IN NSEC3 1 1 0 - G9HKV8PHGJ1NMH94L9RMIQM0J64UCIPK NS SOA RRSIG DNSKEY NSEC3PARAM TYPE65534
G9F1KIIHM8M9VHJK7LRVETBQCEOGJIQP.co.uk. 10800 IN RRSIG NSEC3 8 3 10800 20180607150235 20180503143611 33621 co.uk. Lx4VYF0cdhDr/2W0kDMbz8vJsH6UN1G+vWgNIjlAnG+63rpQV/ySAqQ6 I6dYdFI6LuDTgSvKgF/Z9Aq44CDsoMDpqa+ylDl57XlcdHLSQemZFzsn Od5bn0E8I/o4zgD3s2I5qKP9NuUA+gO4iQa/pgWn8b4K5xsHnsI0BM/5 scQ=
PUC2TUOKDH6JH3JU4S55RMJ9UJ4MUJAR.co.uk. 10800 IN NSEC3 1 1 0 - PUEKUFF6QLKEHL1RG6N7S0SHCMML6NVR NS DS RRSIG
PUC2TUOKDH6JH3JU4S55RMJ9UJ4MUJAR.co.uk. 10800 IN RRSIG NSEC3 8 3 10800 20180602170112 20180428165322 33621 co.uk. MrXcq7P0vKtaycbIz2kuzVP2u2yQf0vwOuDL3KoH9EAzbTPkZc8KQIYi IIJyt+ngvL90fGy0LjC5vwK75JzV4wdorYP9Yu5v38HmDVFfEIOdXs6m EWcPUuJelMitLjdgXIFoHrhH8j33RnAfu07aMVTBTHrbdJkjJR1uqTM8 IW8=
;; Received 711 bytes from 156.154.102.3#53(nsc.nic.uk) in 18 ms

www3.iii.co.uk. 300 IN CNAME tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk.
;; Received 104 bytes from 213.178.144.55#53(fm1-ns2.iii.co.uk) in 14 ms

Now let's take a look at the destination domain tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk.

If I use Google's or Cloudfare's DNS then this domain resolves to the IP 185.194.40.22, which is ultimately where you're trying to get to.

Google:

 $ host tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk 8.8.8.8
Using domain server:
Name: 8.8.8.8
Address: 8.8.8.8#53
Aliases:

tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk has address 185.194.40.22

Cloudfare:

~ $ host tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk 1.1.1.1
Using domain server:
Name: 1.1.1.1
Address: 1.1.1.1#53
Aliases:

tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk has address 185.194.40.22

Using Plusnet's default resolvers though gives this:

~ $ host tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk 212.159.6.10
Using domain server:
Name: 212.159.6.10
Address: 212.159.6.10#53
Aliases:

Host tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk not found: 2(SERVFAIL)

 And looking further it seems it's because the delegated nameservers for the domain aren't answering queries, or cannot be reached. The NS server being advertised is gtm01.iicorp.uk:

~ $ dig tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk ns

; <<>> DiG 9.9.5-9+deb8u13-Raspbian <<>> tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk ns
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 38555
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 512
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk. IN NS

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
resolv.iicorp.uk.       744     IN      SOA     gtm01.iicorp.uk. hostmaster.gtm01.iicorp.uk. 2017102502 10800 3600 604800 86400

Yet this server, which should be able to answer queries for the domain, cannot:

~ $ dig tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk @gtm01.iicorp.uk

; <<>> DiG 9.9.5-9+deb8u13-Raspbian <<>> tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk @gtm01.iicorp.uk
;; global options: +cmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

I suspect non-Plusnet DNS servers are caching 'good' entries or are more resilient to this sort of failure - probably down to the way the respective underlying software/systems are configured.

Interestingly, our parental control DNS servers can resolve the host name:

~ $ host tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk 213.120.234.42
Using domain server:
Name: 213.120.234.42
Address: 213.120.234.42#53
Aliases:

tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk has address 185.194.40.22

You can probably work around the issue by assigning machines on your network our parental control DNS addresses (below), or use a third party's:

213.120.234.42
213.120.234.38

TLCheesyR: The owner of the domain this site is trying to redirect to has misconfigured their DNS i.e. it's not our problem Wink

Evidenced further by a check over at Pingdom:

dns-check.JPG

 

 

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

hutchingsp
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 28-04-2018

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

Bob thanks for responding.

I'm on Plusnet now using Cloudflare's DNS, I can't get to the site (I always use Google or Cloudflare DNS as they work better than most ISP's DNS in my experience).

If I use a VPN proxy in Chrome it works absolutely fine with any location I choose.

If I access it from work it works absolutely fine.

If I take my laptop and jump on McDonald's wi-fi it works absolutely fine.

The only place it doesn't work is when I'm on Plusnet broadband.

McDonald's wi-fi isn't a viable solution as I'll just get fat.

If you try to browse to https://185.194.40.22 do you get so much as a certificate mismatch warning using Plusnet which shows it's at least connecting to something, as I can't even connect to the IP using Plusnet, yet using the VPN or any of the options above I can.

Thanks.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,236
Thanks: 974
Fixes: 83
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Website does't load on Plusnet - could you try this site for me?

If you try to browse to https://185.194.40.22 do you get so much as a certificate mismatch warning using Plusnet which shows it's at least connecting to something, as I can't even connect to the IP using Plusnet, yet using the VPN or any of the options above I can.


I should learn to be less eager Wink

You raise a valid point, and I should probably consider ingesting some humble pie.

There does indeed seem to be a routing/connectivity issue.

On Vodafone:

C:\Windows\System32>tracetcp 185.194.40.22:443

Tracing route to 185.194.40.22 on port 443
Over a maximum of 30 hops.
1       6 ms    4 ms    4 ms    192.168.43.1
2       *       *       *       Request timed out.
3       33 ms   44 ms   39 ms   192.168.213.21
4       77 ms   41 ms   38 ms   192.168.213.22
5       101 ms  90 ms   38 ms   10.205.73.166
6       Destination Reached in 29 ms. Connection established to 185.194.40.22
Trace Complete.

On Plusnet:

C:\Users\Bob>tracetcp 185.194.40.22:443

Tracing route to 185.194.40.22 on port 443
Over a maximum of 30 hops.
1       4 ms    4 ms    3 ms    192.168.1.254   [home.gateway]
2       18 ms   13 ms   12 ms   84.93.253.112   [410.xe-2-2-0.central10.psb-bng03.plus.net]
3       15 ms   15 ms   14 ms   84.93.253.115   [411.be7.psb-ir01.plus.net]
4       15 ms   14 ms   15 ms   195.99.125.142
5       20 ms   17 ms   14 ms   195.99.127.0
6       26 ms   23 ms   23 ms   109.159.251.48  [acc1-xe5-1-1.sf.21cn-ipp.bt.net]
7       25 ms   22 ms   24 ms   217.32.170.141  [access3-te0-1-0-0.sf.21cn-ipp.bt.net]
8       26 ms   25 ms   26 ms   62.7.197.189
9       *       *       *       Request timed out.
10      *       *       *       Request timed out.
11      *       *       *       Request timed out.
12      *       *       *       Request timed out.
13      *       *       *       Request timed out.
14      *       *       *       Request timed out.

Same applies with a lookup using the domain's nameserver.

Works on Vodafone:

C:\Windows\System32>nslookup tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk gtm01.iicorp.uk
Server:  UnKnown
Address:  185.194.40.216

Name:    tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk
Address:  185.194.40.22

Struggles on Plusnet:

C:\Users\Bob>nslookup tdor-www-tddirectinvesting-co-uk.resolv.iicorp.uk gtm01.iicorp.uk
DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
Server:  UnKnown
Address:  185.194.40.216

DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
*** Request to UnKnown timed-out

It seems neither the site, nor the authoritative nameservers can be reached, which explains what we're seeing. They're both in the same IP subnet, so I've a feeling there's an intrusion appliance/firewall somewhere that's blocking things.

Edit: Raised with our network engineers (ref: 567034). Apologies for the initial misdiagnosis.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵