cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vodafone Sure Signal V3 and PPPoE vs PPPoA on Fibre

mikeb54
Hooked

Vodafone Sure Signal V3 and PPPoE vs PPPoA on Fibre

I have been trying to get a VSS V3 working on my Plusnet Fibre Broadband config for weeks now. After many chats/posts etc over 4 weeks VF are asking me to check the router/bband config. Plusnet Support are unwilling to help with 'non-std' configs. The first thing VF say is...

Vodafone sure signal Service is only guaranteed on a PPPoA internet connection type.

I am not a networking techie. I am told that for Fibre you need PPPoE type and if changed to PPPoA then it will stop working! Is this true?? 

They also request that VPN Type set to IPSec. How can this be done on my router if PPPoE is fixed? The router is a SAGEMCOM 2704N with the usual Plusnet interface.

Thanks

9 REPLIES 9
Andrue
Pro
Fixes: 1

Re: Vodafone Sure Signal V3 and PPPoE vs PPPoA on Fibre

I can't see why PPPoA v PPPoE should make any difference since the SS3 traffic will be travelling through the PPP tunnel anyway. In theory you could see low level fragmentation on PPPoE that you might not get on PPPoA but any service that sensitive has no business being sold to consumers in the first place. BT's ADSL wholesale service supports both but I think FTTC might be PPPoE only. All in all I suspect you are just getting the usual mindless drivel that Vodafone support staff are so good at.