cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very Slow Fibre Speed

alan_in_chard
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Very Slow Fibre Speed

I reckon your download speed, on fibre from Plusnet, is good. I'm supposed to get 74Mb guaranteed minimum: I get 3 Mb. Spoke to Tech Support quite a while ago: nothing has happened and I doubt that it ever will. May have to claim breach of contract and go to EE. I cannot recommend Plusnet to anyone: in every respect, absolutely hopeless!

37 REPLIES
alan_in_chard
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

With a home network, do not use power-line adaptors! The ONLY sensible connections are Cat6 cables from your router to each PC in your house. And do not use Wi-Fi, either.

 

Alan_in_Chard

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,541
Thanks: 2,864
Fixes: 234
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

Moderator's note:

Split from a three-year-old thread for better visibility.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,553
Thanks: 1,243
Fixes: 102
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

@alan_in_chard, are your speed issues limited to evenings/peak times?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

alan_in_chard
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

Thanks for asking; the answer is no.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,553
Thanks: 1,243
Fixes: 102
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

And you're still seeing < 10mbps speeds over a wired connection?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

alan_in_chard
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

You ask "Am I still receiving < 10 MB/s over a wired connection?"

 

It depends on what you mean by a "wired connection". My connection is FTTC, so it is 'part wired': the cabinet that contains the DSLAM is very close to my house; the exchange that that cabinet is connected to is less that 1 mile away. Last time I checked my D/L speed (several websites offering that utility), the D/L speed was about 5 ~ 7 MB/s; upload was about 5 MB/s. I am supposed to get 74 MB/s minimum guaranteed! And that is what I am paying for . . . . . .  :-(

There is no Wi-Fi in use here.

 

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,553
Thanks: 1,243
Fixes: 102
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

I was referring to the connection between your devices and the router. Thanks for the clarification.
Regarding download, can I check that you're not confusing your bits with your bytes.
74mbps is roughly 9MBps.
You have a 74mb/s estimate, not 74MB/s.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

alan_in_chard
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

Hi!

O.K.: wiring.

Router to ONE PC for the D/L test, is a Cat5 E/net cable. PC is a P4 running WIn_XP + SP3 (32-bit). 

Wiring from NTE BT wall box to router is a standard RJ-11 (I think that's the correct name) to BT431 cable - as supplied by Plusnot.

ADSL filter is fitted.

--------

Browser is Firefox v. 52. For test, anti-virus switched OFF. Test run at various times when the 'Net is quiet-ish. Router supplied by Plusnot, titles 'Hub One'.

--------

Bits 'n' Bytes: I always get confused about those abbreviations - but I do know the difference! Perhaps I should have written "D/L = 6; U/L = 5; units of measurement as per standard metrics" (Or something like that!)

Al. / Jan. 6th. //

RichardB
Pro
Posts: 416
Thanks: 131
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

Hi alan_in_chard,

To avoid any problens with the translation of units etc, you could take a screenshot of the speed test result and attach it to a reply on this thread.

The PN hosted speed test is: http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/

The BT wholesale speedtest is: http://www.speedtest.btwholesale.com/

Others have recently reported some issues with the BT test :-(

but the BT test results arerecorded by BT and can be used by PN as evidence of congestion in the BT network.

Richard

alan_in_chard
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

Hello Richard,

Thanks for your reply.  I've made a screen-shot and tried to attach it: BTW test result_1.jpg. I'm not sure if you will be able to read it, since when I do a preview (usual procedure with any site for such, prior to  'sending it in', it doesn't give the display of that 'shot'). But I'll try, anyway . . . .

 

alan_in_chard
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

From alan_in_chard.

Ah-Ha! O.K., I can now see that it does indeed work! I am surprised - for the reason given.

Alan / Jan. 7th. @ 11:30 a.m. //

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,596
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

Speed tests can vary a lot and be affected by many factors.

Can you post the results of the Help Desk tab from the router, making sure to hide any sensitive information such as user name and password.

alan_in_chard
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

Quote: "Speed tests can vary a lot and be affected by many factors." Unquote.

► Yes, I'm well aware of that: I'm concerned about my minimum, guaranteed D/L speed.

Anyway, here's the screen-shot you requested . . . .

 

Alan. / Jan. 7 //

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 873
Thanks: 347
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Very Slow Fibre Speed

That's just the login page, we need to see the line connection details sync speeds etc.